Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Absolutely beautiful. Yes, I used only half the amount of vinegar, but that's just a personal preference--the only 'right' amount is the amount you like. Also, if you let the vinegar cook out a minute or so, it reduces and becomes sweet, which gives the almost a raisin-y type taste. Again, whatever's your personal preference. (the cooking times will always vary, as brands of rice vary) All in all, a hit with both myself and my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made the recipe as written and the balsamic vinger is too overpowering. Also, the rice takes much longer than 20 minutes to cook. It takes about 45 minutes to an hour. I may try again with less balsamic as other users suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe. My husband raved over it. I followed recipe as written with just a few changes. 1. sauted 2 chicken breasts in olive oil and garlic for chicken component. 2. added portabella mushrooms to onion mixture. 3. used 2 onions as suggested by others. 4. added grated parmesan and some sliced grape tomatoes prior to serving Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was pretty good - this was the first time I made risotto, and while it did take a long time, it turned out well. I did thought that the balsamic was an interesting twist but it was a little too strong and overpowering. Next time will reduce to 2 tbsp like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good - the risotto makes it (I tried substituting regular rice once and it was not nearly as good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I've made it so many times and it never disappoints! Some variations I do are: don't put the chicken in the risotto. I cook whole chicken breasts and serve them on the side. I stuff the chicken with some herbed goat cheese and put the same goat cheese in the risotto when it is almost done. It is so good and it ties the two together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, I used rotisserie chicken that I bought at the store and I reduced the vinegar to around 1/8 cup. If you don't cut the vinegar down that is all you will taste. Made like I listed above the flavors work really well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
We didn't really care for this recipe. I used less vinegar than called for, and that was still too much for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Had very good flavor. This was my first time making and eating risotto so I wasn't sure if it came out right. It was very "gummy" and I'm not sure if risotto is suppose to be like that. If it is then it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I halved this recipe and I made this as a side dish without the chicken. It turned fantastic. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States