Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Was a pretty disapointing dish. I expected so much more from this. I used left over chicken breast from our bbq and I think it all went wrong when I didn't use homemade stock - I used store bought stock. The finished taste was all stock and you couldn't even taste the rice/chicken/onions. It would have been better if I had used half stock and half water I think. Also there is no need to cook the onions and rice in separate pans. I cooked the onions, with some garlic, as directed then just added the rice to the same pot and began cooking the risotto. Surely you want the rice to absorb all the different flavours so why keep them seperate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I hate giving bad reviews. I honestly do. The flavours were terrible. I have made many a risotto. I'm sorry to be so harsh, but I just don't understand why this has gotten so many good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was an fantastic dish! I used 1 large onion, and instead of removing them from the heat right away, I let the balsalmic (1 tbsp) reduce for a couple minutes before removing it. I used about a half of a rotisserie chicken, and served it with a salad and galic toast- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Yummer's, loved this dish. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
The flavor of the balsamic vinegar was nice. I didn't add chicken to the dish because I used the risotto as a side. It's best eaten immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
The onions and balsamic vinegar were the best part of this dish. It was a delicious idea. However, the cooking time for the risotto is off. It took more like 35-40 mins to make the right texture. I'm not sure why it's called roasted chicken in the title, when there's no instruction on how to make the chicken. I ended up using a George Forman grill, while seasoning the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. As a note, it makes far more than 4 servings, unless you're eating far more than you should. As most leftovers, it wasn't very good the next day. So I'd say eat it when you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Too salty! Use reduced sodium chicken broth, do not add extra salt at the end and use ONLY 1 T. balsamic vinegar (cannot stress that enough). Definitely use 2 onions and 2 t. minced garlic. Fresh thyme at the end made it taste heaps better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
So good! Recipe definitely took longer than the suggested 20 min to make the risotto but it was worth it. I used a huge vidalia onion and 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar, which made for an amazing flavor. I'm going to add asparagus next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Great recipe! You definately need patience and constant attention to cooking the risotto. I added gorgonzola and mushrooms as well. The second time I made it, I switched out the chicken with shrimp and crab. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I just don't get it! Most of the time I agree with the ratings. This recipe just didn't do it for me or my family. As much as I love all the individual ingredients it just tasted funky. I followed the recipe exactly and we ate it but just because we didn't want to waste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States