Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was an fantastic dish! I used 1 large onion, and instead of removing them from the heat right away, I let the balsalmic (1 tbsp) reduce for a couple minutes before removing it. I used about a half of a rotisserie chicken, and served it with a salad and galic toast- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Yummer's, loved this dish. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
The flavor of the balsamic vinegar was nice. I didn't add chicken to the dish because I used the risotto as a side. It's best eaten immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
The onions and balsamic vinegar were the best part of this dish. It was a delicious idea. However, the cooking time for the risotto is off. It took more like 35-40 mins to make the right texture. I'm not sure why it's called roasted chicken in the title, when there's no instruction on how to make the chicken. I ended up using a George Forman grill, while seasoning the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. As a note, it makes far more than 4 servings, unless you're eating far more than you should. As most leftovers, it wasn't very good the next day. So I'd say eat it when you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Too salty! Use reduced sodium chicken broth, do not add extra salt at the end and use ONLY 1 T. balsamic vinegar (cannot stress that enough). Definitely use 2 onions and 2 t. minced garlic. Fresh thyme at the end made it taste heaps better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
So good! Recipe definitely took longer than the suggested 20 min to make the risotto but it was worth it. I used a huge vidalia onion and 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar, which made for an amazing flavor. I'm going to add asparagus next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Great recipe! You definately need patience and constant attention to cooking the risotto. I added gorgonzola and mushrooms as well. The second time I made it, I switched out the chicken with shrimp and crab. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I just don't get it! Most of the time I agree with the ratings. This recipe just didn't do it for me or my family. As much as I love all the individual ingredients it just tasted funky. I followed the recipe exactly and we ate it but just because we didn't want to waste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was a good, easy recipe, although it definitely took longer than 20 minutes, but overall I had it ready less than an hour after I started cooking (I used a store-bought rotisserie chicken.) I definitely recommend using 2 onions, and adding mushrooms - I added 8 oz. of baby bellas, and reducing the balsamic vinegar. I used 1 T, I think 2 T would have worked better. I also used white grape juice instead of wine, since we are a no-alcohol family, and probably only about 6 cups of chicken broth. I think sundried tomatoes, or a good tangy salad, would have worked well with this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
My first risotto! So yummy:) Love the balsamic flavor and how easy it is to make! I used only 6 cups of broth and it turned out perfect, it did take a while for it to cook though, longer than 20 minutes. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, and for those that have no idea what to do with the rest of the rotisserie chicken...use it in another dish. I have mine chopped and ready for enchiladas later this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States