Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Even though I made some slight changes, I give this a 5 because it would still be amazing as it's written. I cooked 2 chicken breasts - on the stove top - in about 6 cups of water seasoned with salt, pepper and onion powder. After taking out my cooked chicken, I used the broth for cooking my arborio rice. With the advice of others, I added an extra onion. Also tossed in some mushrooms and fresh garlic as the onions started caramelizing. Stirred in some thinly sliced zucchini to the onions mixture when I added the balsamic vinegar, after taking it off the heat. Wanted to "bulk it up" a bit by adding veggies to make it a well-rounded meal. This fed my family of 4 (2 adults, 2 small children) with some leftovers for my lunch tomorrow! This was AMAZING!! Will definitely make it again, but only on the weekend when I have a little more time - and my husband to help with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good. Didn't have the correct rice so I used basmati. Turned out really good but not as creamy as I expected, may be from the rice. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mower

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Was a pretty disapointing dish. I expected so much more from this. I used left over chicken breast from our bbq and I think it all went wrong when I didn't use homemade stock - I used store bought stock. The finished taste was all stock and you couldn't even taste the rice/chicken/onions. It would have been better if I had used half stock and half water I think. Also there is no need to cook the onions and rice in separate pans. I cooked the onions, with some garlic, as directed then just added the rice to the same pot and began cooking the risotto. Surely you want the rice to absorb all the different flavours so why keep them seperate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I hate giving bad reviews. I honestly do. The flavours were terrible. I have made many a risotto. I'm sorry to be so harsh, but I just don't understand why this has gotten so many good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was an fantastic dish! I used 1 large onion, and instead of removing them from the heat right away, I let the balsalmic (1 tbsp) reduce for a couple minutes before removing it. I used about a half of a rotisserie chicken, and served it with a salad and galic toast- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Yummer's, loved this dish. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
The flavor of the balsamic vinegar was nice. I didn't add chicken to the dish because I used the risotto as a side. It's best eaten immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
The onions and balsamic vinegar were the best part of this dish. It was a delicious idea. However, the cooking time for the risotto is off. It took more like 35-40 mins to make the right texture. I'm not sure why it's called roasted chicken in the title, when there's no instruction on how to make the chicken. I ended up using a George Forman grill, while seasoning the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. As a note, it makes far more than 4 servings, unless you're eating far more than you should. As most leftovers, it wasn't very good the next day. So I'd say eat it when you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Too salty! Use reduced sodium chicken broth, do not add extra salt at the end and use ONLY 1 T. balsamic vinegar (cannot stress that enough). Definitely use 2 onions and 2 t. minced garlic. Fresh thyme at the end made it taste heaps better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
So good! Recipe definitely took longer than the suggested 20 min to make the risotto but it was worth it. I used a huge vidalia onion and 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar, which made for an amazing flavor. I'm going to add asparagus next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States