Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I thought this was great just the way it is. I do really like balsamic vinegar, so keep that in mind, but I felt that the flavors were perfect. I used a sweet onion, which may have helped. I may make this without the chicken next time and serve it as a side dish to a flavorful chicken dish, but it's definitely being added to my list. This is also the first risotto my husband has liked that isn't loaded down with nearly a cup of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I wish I had read the reviews before I made this. It tasted great until we added the balsamic onions. I love balsamic but it totally overpowered the dish and made it taste almost sour. I'll use this recipe as a good base for other risottos, but will skip the balsamic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This did not taste like risotto to me. I should have cut back on the balsamic as others suggested. The only thing that "saved" this recipe was adding about 1/4 cup of parm and about 1/4 cup of heavy cream at the end, this gave it more of a risotto taste but the balsamic was still overwhelming. (and that's coming from someone who loves balsamic and uses it often in cooking) So, I would suggest cutting the balsamic to at least 1/8 cup, add 1/4 cup heavy cream and allow it to absorb a bit at the end of cooking, remove from heat and add 1/4 cup parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was "OK" -- I really felt the balsamic vinegar overpowered the dish, I probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Very good recipe; would be great with some modifications. I followed it as written, except I sauteed some chopped chicken breast instead of roasting. I also did 1 T oil and 1 T butter when carmelizing the onions; they took around 40 minutes on a low heat. I also only needed about 5 cups broth -- after that the rice was perfectly done. Next time I would cut the balsalmic down to about 1/8 cup. I like balsalmic, but I thought the taste was a little strong and overpowered the onions a bit. I would also add some minced garlic. I worked on a small stove so I heated the broth and wine in a small coffee cup in the microwave shortly before adding them into the rice. It worked out very well! The risotto was creamy and my husband ate several servings and licked his plate clean. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Wow my son loved it. Great rich taste. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Really nice recipe! I used chicken I'd roasted the day before for another meal. Also added some grated Parmesan at the end with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
The balsamic was too heavy so I scaled it back to about 2T as another user suggested. It turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Hubby says give it 6 stars. I used 2T balsamic, added garlic with the onion, added artichoke hearts with the chicken. Other users are right cant really tell the chicken was roasted so maybe next time I'll use regular...also used white grape juice b/c I didn't have any wine :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClemMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I really liked this. I used some grilled herb and lemon chicken breasts I had in my freezer. I can see the balsamic being too strong for some - especially if you are using a really cheap or harsh one. Use a good quality balsamic and add it slowly at the end to eliminate the possibility of overpowering this with vinegar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States