Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Finally! I have tried risotto a few times and every time has not been very good. But this was wonderful. I make it into a side dish and cooked the chicken a different way separately. I also added fresh mushrooms to the onion balsamic mixture and that really made the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great recipe! After making it as directed we experimented with other ideas. Our favorite is spinach and artichoke! We prepare the risotto, onions and chicken as directed. Then we microwave a package of frozen chopped spinach and a can of artichoke hearts and mix them in at the end with the chicken and onions. They add a nice flavor and we serve it with fresh parmesan cheese. I sometimes substitute the last 1/2 cup of chicken broth with whole milk, to make it a little creamier. Wonderful base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
not much flavor. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
We had risotto at a very fine $$ italian restaurant back in Dec while visiting Seattle. It was so good, that I have wanted to create it at home. I have been scared of making it - but no more! It is time comsuming, since you need to stir continuously at med high heat and for all those that gave it a one star - I say --"follow the recipe directions" and "you will have no trouble"!!! You need to keep it bubbling and stir and stir and keep adding your liquid a little at a time and let it absorbed into rice and eventually you havea nice creamy risotto! I did add 3 cloves of garlicand 1 cup sliced mushrooms to the onion mixture. I used 1T red wine vinegar after I read some comments that it was too much vinegar! I used about 6 cups broth - you have to keep stirring and adding broth amd it only took me 26 min - next time I might add peas for color and eliminate thyme and use just basil. I did add some red pepper flakes. I roasted chicken tenders and cut those up. over all this dish was delicous and I will be making it again, now that I know how to make it and will add my own variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I really liked this. Made as author intended. I would try with crimini mushrooms as others suggested. We just cooked our chicken in oo in frying pan and it was fine! Couple things though, our rice was no where close to being done in 20 minutes . it was more like 30-40. My husband thought it was pretty time consuming for "chicken and rice" but he did like it! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Absolutely fabulous for my first time making risotto. I thought it tasted great! Kids may have liked it better either with less balsamic or maybe if I would have had a better quality. It wasn't their favorite, but oh well, more for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I was not a fan of this recipe. The balsamic vinegar overwhelmed the dish in my opinion. I followed the recipe to the letter and found the time was closer to 1-1/2 hours, 7 cups of broth was too much--made the rice soggy. I added parmesan cheese as a garnish, but it didn't help the taste of the balsamic vinegar at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver City, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I hate to give a bad review, really I do, but the flavor had WAY too much balsamic, even with 2 onions. After the dish was complete I had to find a way to tame it. I ended up adding about 1/2 cup cream, about a half dozen sliced mushrooms, 2 tsp bacon fat and 2 tsp sugar. By doing this I was able to save the dish, but even after this I still did not get a single compliment. And when were the onions caramelized? They were browned, not caramelized. And what's with the chicken? This recipe was highly disappointing. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I thought this was great just the way it is. I do really like balsamic vinegar, so keep that in mind, but I felt that the flavors were perfect. I used a sweet onion, which may have helped. I may make this without the chicken next time and serve it as a side dish to a flavorful chicken dish, but it's definitely being added to my list. This is also the first risotto my husband has liked that isn't loaded down with nearly a cup of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I wish I had read the reviews before I made this. It tasted great until we added the balsamic onions. I love balsamic but it totally overpowered the dish and made it taste almost sour. I'll use this recipe as a good base for other risottos, but will skip the balsamic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States