Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Incredible! Had this as a side dish without the chicken because we had steak as the main dish. I thought this was the best risotto I have ever made. An a+ from my daughter, too. I was actually afraid of adding the carmelized red onions to her rice but she loved it. When using chicken buillon, make sure to use unsalted butter. Oh and also it wasn't necessary to sprinkle thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Great dish. Tasty and easy to adjust to suit your tastes and needs. You can put anything you want with the rice base. It's not hard to make, but does take time. The 20 minutes to stated for broth to be absorbed took nearly an hour. Heating the broth before adding (and re-heating between pours) helps the absorption speed a bit. If you have the time, it's worth it. -- I have to add that the thyme is really a great garnish for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Very nice recipie, and instructions were perfect. First dish dasn't so good as the basalmic vineger gave me a "bite back," must be my palate. After leaving out the vinegar and using my own marinated oven broiled chicken, this recipie rocked. Tasty, creamy, and well beyond my expectations. Simply delicious! Thank you for making what I thought was a complicated dish easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starship Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
The first few bites were great, but by the time I got to the middle of my portion it was boring. It makes for nothing but edible, but not tasty, leftovers. Leftovers sustain us. I enjoyed the onions and balsamic together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was delicious, and easy. I love risotto anyway I can get it and this was a nice addition. The only thing I did different was when I was done cooking the onion I deglazed the pan with white wine and cooked the chicken in it and sliced it into small pieces and it was really good cause all I had was boneless on hand. Excellent dish Michele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
It was ok. I didn't have Risotto, and our store didn't carry it so I had to substitute it with brown rice. It had great flavor, I added some garlic to the rice while it was cooking just because every review said it need some help on flavor. I also did what others did with cutting down on the balsamic vinegar, I just sprinkled a little on the onions and mushrooms (also what reviews advised) and tossed. I liked it, but it wasn't like awesome or anything. Nothing to rave too much about, but was good enough to eat and not have to use the backup pizza for (haha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Easy and tasty! Took a while to cook the risotto but it was worth every bite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was really good and my first time making risotto which I was super nervous about but it was perfect. I thought the balsamic was a bit overpowering so the next time I make it I will use a little less than what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Made as it was printed and it was WAY too much balsamic if you ask me. The risotto came out perfect - have the sore shoulder to prove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
We followed the recipe pretty close and felt like it was good but needed something. Like possibly bacon...ha. I know, bacon makes ANYTHING good. But for all the time it took (a good hour and a half) we didn't feel it was worth the time. Couple things we would change: add into the actual recipe part a step to heat the broth before adding because we totally forgot to heat it before adding. Not a huge deal but I think it would have cooked much faster. Also we felt 2 Tbsp thyme was too much. It was definitely creamy though and we just cooked the chicken in the same pan after the onion mixture so maybe if we had gotten a rotisserie it would have added to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States