Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was decent. I have never had risotto before so I wasn't sure what to expect. I did add mushrooms and a bit of garlic as other reviewers suggested. I also cooked two chicken breasts on my Foreman grill as another review suggested and I seasoned the chicken with garlic powder and seasoning salt. My husband and 3 year old did not care for it, but my 6 year old liked it. I would have to agree that the balsamic is a bit on the strong side and can definitely be reduced. The cooking time was also off as this did take about 45 minutes for the rice to absorb the fluid. I probably won't make this version again, but I am opening to trying different versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I do suggest cutting the balsamic in half and adding sauted mushrooms and parmesean cheese (1/2 C) at the end. I have made this a half a dozen times and always get raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was really good, but I felt like it was missing something. Maybe roasted tomatoes or zucchini? I'm still not sure. Regardless, I'm sure I'll make this again, minus the balsamic vinegar (I didn't think it really meshed with the rest of the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I'll give this 5 stars BUT I did only put 1 tablespoon of balsamic in. Any more would have been overkill. Took about 6 cups of the chicken broth and I added a little parmesan with the butter. Had a really nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Balsamic vinegar overpowered the dish. If I try again I'll use less balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Custy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Very good. I have made this several times. I heat the chicken broth in a sauce pan so it is hot when I add it. I also reduce the amount of balsalmic by about 1/2. I have made this w/o chicken or using a store-bought rotisserie chicken. It is very easy to make. There is a lot of stirring involved, but I just get a glass of wine, put on some music, and hang out with my risotto by the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I agree with the other reviews about too much basalmic and I love love love basalmic. It was a bit over powering in this recipe. Also the cook time is off by quite a bit. I've made a lot of risotto and it takes about an hour not 20 minutes. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
The new best thing I cook. I fried the chicken in peanut oil. Add mushrooms to onions. Its weird, I can still taste it after an half hour. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The balsamic flavor was a bit too much for me. Next time I would cut the balsalmic in half. The title should be Balsamic Chicken with Risotto and Onions because that is the main flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
very tasty - served with parmesan cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States