Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The balsamic flavor was a bit too much for me. Next time I would cut the balsalmic in half. The title should be Balsamic Chicken with Risotto and Onions because that is the main flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
very tasty - served with parmesan cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Awesome! I have made this several times and it always gets rave reviews/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I finally got around to trying this recipe last night (it's been in my recipe box for almost 8 years), and we were very pleased with it. The only thing I did differently was to use about 1t dried thyme stirred in near the end of cooking, rather than fresh. I did notice that I needed only 5 cups of broth, but would still have the amount called for ready for use. Using a really good balsamic vinegar is important - the best I've found is Kirkland Signature from Costco. This recipe is a definite keeper. Thanks, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The balsamic vinegar is OVERPOWERING and ruins what could possibly be a good dish. I like balsamic vinegar but this was simply too much. A tablespoon might be okay but I would only add a little at a time tasting it as you go. In any case taste it before you add the chicken as you may want to save your chicken for something edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. not worth all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrazyKrista
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was awesome! I used pearl rice which is a cheaper similar version of arborio and it worked great. I wound up using about 6 cups of broth. I omitted the thyme just out of preference and topped with cheese and chives instead. The caramelized onions were SOOO good with the balsamic vinegar on them. This definitely does take a lot longer than it states but it's VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKrista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Good flavor but arbrio rice is expensive. My first time making risotto and it came out a bit mushy. Also, time estimates are way below actual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I did not use all of the broth, eliminated the wine and added artichokes. It took more than 20 minutes, but it was delicious,. Next time, I think I might try 1) using low-sodium broth and about 2) 1/2 only half the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States