Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I've been using this recipe for a while and keep forgetting to review it! We LOVE this recipe, when I have time to make it. I'd always been a little scared of making risotto, but this recipe was well written. The balsamic onions add a nice sweetness and tang to the overall creamy dish, which is much needed. Without them, I could see this being way too heavy. Good balance, good texture. This is one of the few recipes I follow exactly every time! I have substituted basil for thyme depending on what I have on hand and it works very well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
excellent! i added mushrooms too.. It takes way LONGER than 45 minutes,, more like 80 minutes to prepare. If you have the time it's worth it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I guess it was my fault that the dish tasted like Balsamic Vinegar overload. When I added the vinegar to the onions I didn't cook it down, I just stirred it in. The flavor of vinegar was overwhelmingt. Added more onion and that didn't help. This recipe also makes a huge amount. I will make it again without so much Balsamic Vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Delicious. Here's how to roast the chicken (I used three smaller boneless/skinless breasts): Just pour a small amount of olive oil (other oil probably would work) in a casserole dish. Take the breasts and put them in the casserole dish and then turn them over so they have a thin coating of oil on both sides. Then just put a little salt and pepper and put in the oven for 25 minutes at 350 degrees if small breasts or 30 minutes at 350 if larger. Alow breasts to rest about ten minutes and then cut into small strips or cubes. And that's it. You can actually cook the onions and the risotto at the same time. So I had the onions carmelizing on one burner, the risotto simmering on a second one and then the chicken stock/broth simmering on the third so it was hot to stir in. Once done, I did mix in a little parmesan cheese in addition to the butter is calls for. Served with a ceasar salad. Really, really good. I'll definitely make it again. Leftovers were delicious too. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe!!! The onions and balsamic really make this rich. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Really easy recipe and tastes delicious! First time making risotto and turned out great. I also added field mushrooms that I fried off in garlic and topped it with grated parmesan as well, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Good but reduce vinager by 1/2 too strong otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Thought this was very good, although the kids thought a little less wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was very good, but certainly takes longer than 45 minutes! Make sure you use a good balsamic to really maximize the flavor. The chicken needs to be seasoned or it will be very bland against the rice. We sauteed small cubes with some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and thyme and that went very well with the other flavors already in the dish. Rice definitely takes longer than 20 minutes to absorb- plan on a good 45 for a real slow-cooked risotto. We also added a couple of cloves of pressed garlic to the onion mixture and chopped the onions very small so as not to have too much crunch in the texture of the rice, but that's just a matter of preference. Overall, nice flavors- just takes a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
After reading several of the reviews I changed a few things as well. I added Mushrooms and shrimp to the onion mixture. I also sauteed them in butter and Garlic instead of the oil. with the Rice it took a little longer than the 20mins. I also cut up chicken breast and cooked it with my own seasoning. I added the needed amount of butter to the risotto and the chicken to the onion mixture and then combined everything together. IT was so Good! all my kids and my Husband just loved it! this is one meal I will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States