Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was very good, a nice change but I was not as blown away as I wish. Defenitely reduce the balsamic vinegar to about 1/8 cup, and make sure to cook the onions on low for awhile to get the carmalizing. Left out fresh thyme, sprinkled some romano on top, was very good. Roasted chicken is always a time saver and so moist, liked it, may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Really good recipe. Only comment was that the balsamic vinegar was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was SOOO GOOOOOD!!! I'm afraid this is going to become an addiction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was my first attempt at risotto and being honest I have never had risotto so I have nothing to compare it to but it was delicious. I followed previous posters' advice and only used 5-6 cups of broth. I did however leave out the chicken altogether and served it is as a side for salmon, it went together beautifully. I was also surprised at how easy it really was, time consuming but easy and I was still able to make a salad and other prepartions while cooking it so it was not that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My daughter (17) made this for her annual Christmas potluck with girlfriends. It was a HUGE hit! Only change she made was to remove most of the onions from the pan to a side bowl (to add the balsamic) and then reuse that pan for the risotto. I think cooking the rice with some onion gives it more flavor. I would highly recommend rotisserie chicken because it does boost up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is a spectacular recipe, and this is my first time making it! I used brown rice, and was a bit worried about the slow cookingo of it because it was "instant" rice. I wound up using 4-5 cups of broth, and apple cider vinegar instead of white wine since I never have white wine in my home. We put some Old Bay on the chicken when we cooked it, and when I put everything together, I added some red pepper flakes. The red pepper wasn't necessary. This was surprisingly filling and the tang is just succulent! Definitely a keeper in my repertoire when I have the time for it! (That 20 minutes for the rice was probably closer to 30-40.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
The balsamic and onions were COMPLETELY over powering! I love risotto but I was extremely dissapointed with this recipe! Thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was DELICIOUS! I didn't need 7 cups of broth... more like 5-5 1/2. I also added garlic to the chicken and mushrooms. It definitely took longer than 20 minutes to make the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was much better than I thought it was going to be. Such simple ingredients come together so nicely! I think the balsamic vinegar makes the dish. I baked a whole chicken and used about half of it and it was plenty of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABRINAWRIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is really tasty! I used up some leftover turkey I had frozen from Thanksgiving, and it turned out great. It took a lot longer than 20 minutes to cook, maybe 35-40 min, but I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States