Roasted Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I loved these. The butter/cinnamon/salt combination was fantastic. I did one thing a little differently. After baking, instead of frying them in the skillet and putting it in the oven, I put them in a baking dish and tossed with melted butter and then broiled on high until they were lightly browned. I think I'm going to try making pumpkin seeds tonight with the same seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
tastes fine, but actually peeling the chestnuts is soooo much work! not worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Great recipe. My daughter suggested I drizzle some honey on top when it came out of the oven. Delicious with the salt, cinammon, and honey combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I've never had chestnuts before, but this recipe was easy and tasty. It was, however, very rich. I used only 2 T. butter, and that was plenty. These would be a good snack/appetizer to place out for company during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Unfortunately, I cannot give this recipe a star rating because I had so much trouble with it. I tried the recipe one time and had so much trouble getting the shells off, plus some of the nuts had mold on them. I thought it was my fault for leaving them in a plastic bag too long. I bought some more and attempted to make them the same day. Same exact trouble. Extremely hard and painful to get the shells off, and sometimes the inner hard skin wouldn't come off, and some of the nuts had mold. That would be the fault of the grocery store but don't know if that explains why they were so hard to deshell. Perhaps I will try the recipe again next year. Just way too much work. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Awesome, I cut the butter to 1 tablespoon it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILECHEF

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Very good and much easier since I found frozen chestnuts at my local store. The nuts still had shells but were already sliced and only took about 6 minutes to heat (from frozen) and were very easy to peel. What a difference from years ago when I did the cross-cut and then boiled the nuts and then cooled and peeled them for stuffings, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I was really excited to make this but, in the end, I was very disappointed. My thumbs hurt for two days after all that de-shelling and the taste was just ok. I love using fresh ingredients, but if I try this again I'll use frozen chestnuts to see if the taste is better without the pain. That's IF I try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I had trouble with this recipe. Mine turned out dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States