Roasted Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These didn't work for us. I'm sure the recipe is fine but we weren't thrilled with the taste of chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Served this as an offering at a holiday party. Everybody raved! The only extra I added was cinnamon sugar (just a sprinkle) instead of cinnamon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette Siler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
If you can get the Italian type of Chestnuts, that is best...they are larger. Get them fresh if you can. If fresh, let them sit in a layer for 5 or 6 days so the skin separates from the meat inside. Then, cut an X in the skin on the flat side. Boil them for about 10 minutes before roasting. Roast at 425 degrees for 60 minutes. Stir a few times during roasting so that they roast evenly. Roast on a flat cookie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
It was a bit difficult to get them peeled, but loved the flavor. Maybe the ones we got were not good or I didn't cook long enough. I will try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Make sure to cut nice big Xs in your chestnuts to facilitate peeling and don't store them in a plastic bag. I learned this the hard way when I ended up with many hard to crack and moldy nuts. The ones I salvaged were good. I used less butter and added sugar, cloves and cayenne. The result was delicious, spicy-sweet candied chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Pretty good. The easiest way to handle chestnuts is to cut a horizontal slit on the flat side. Soak them in salt water for 30-60 minutes. Cook them like the recipe says, and when they are still warm, squeeze the shell on the top and bottom of the slit. The shell will break in half easily and the nut should slide right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
.. I 'forgot' to cut the chestnuts not long ago. They didn't explode. However, they were very difficult to shell. I cooked them in garlic butter. Lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I used this recipe for the cooking part. I then tried to cook them in the microwave. And at the time I was making ribs on the grill. So I wrapped some chestnuts in foil and grilled them on indirect heat for 3 hours. The grilled plain chestnuts came out the best. Soft and tender the next day(in the shell). I then whacked them a couple of time with a hammer to crack the shells. Then they peeled easy. I will experiment more with the microwave oven, so I can make them at work. Caution, I did have one blow up in the microwave. Made a mess, poke a good hole in the shell and cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Pretty good, but only for the first few hours. They went rock-hard after a while and I was really disappointed. I left out the cinnamon and the overall flavor was delicious! (I don't think that cinnamon would really go with them.) They tasted a little like Butternut squash! I also peeled them when they were still hot like some others said, and it was easy. I will definitely make them again, but I won't cook them as long. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States