Roasted Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I loved these. The butter/cinnamon/salt combination was fantastic. I did one thing a little differently. After baking, instead of frying them in the skillet and putting it in the oven, I put them in a baking dish and tossed with melted butter and then broiled on high until they were lightly browned. I think I'm going to try making pumpkin seeds tonight with the same seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Great recipe. My daughter suggested I drizzle some honey on top when it came out of the oven. Delicious with the salt, cinammon, and honey combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Unfortunately, I cannot give this recipe a star rating because I had so much trouble with it. I tried the recipe one time and had so much trouble getting the shells off, plus some of the nuts had mold on them. I thought it was my fault for leaving them in a plastic bag too long. I bought some more and attempted to make them the same day. Same exact trouble. Extremely hard and painful to get the shells off, and sometimes the inner hard skin wouldn't come off, and some of the nuts had mold. That would be the fault of the grocery store but don't know if that explains why they were so hard to deshell. Perhaps I will try the recipe again next year. Just way too much work. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Awesome, I cut the butter to 1 tablespoon it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILECHEF

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Very good and much easier since I found frozen chestnuts at my local store. The nuts still had shells but were already sliced and only took about 6 minutes to heat (from frozen) and were very easy to peel. What a difference from years ago when I did the cross-cut and then boiled the nuts and then cooled and peeled them for stuffings, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was great! Also instead of using cinnamon for half i tried garlic. It turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I ran across this while trying to find a basic roasted chestnuts recipe for Christmas. I followed the directions, slashing the X across the fat, rounded part of the chestnuts. (I accidentally cut through two of them, but that was OK.) I put them on a cookie sheet and baked at 375 for 25 minutes. As SOON as they came out, I carefully peeled the chestnuts one by one. The chestnuts were soft. I tried one before frying in butter, and it had an interesting if not plain flavor. I only put them in butter for about 3 minutes. The butter is mostly for flavor, NOT for cooking... that is important to know! I took them out, then sprinkled them with cinnamon and salt. I did NOT re-bake since they seemed pretty much done at that point. We all ate them up with gusto. What a unique holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I used this recipe for the cooking part. I then tried to cook them in the microwave. And at the time I was making ribs on the grill. So I wrapped some chestnuts in foil and grilled them on indirect heat for 3 hours. The grilled plain chestnuts came out the best. Soft and tender the next day(in the shell). I then whacked them a couple of time with a hammer to crack the shells. Then they peeled easy. I will experiment more with the microwave oven, so I can make them at work. Caution, I did have one blow up in the microwave. Made a mess, poke a good hole in the shell and cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States