Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I am eating a bowl of this as I type. It's quite enjoyable. I made a few changes, some based on necessity and some on preference. I added a chopped carrot to the pan for roasting with the carrot, and I used regular olive (no garlic olive oil). We have just a bit of milk left, and my husband will not be happy if I use it and he has none to drink with dinner (no time to go to store today), so I used 2 cups chicken broth and half cup of heavy cream. I added garlic powder to onions (just ran out of fresh garlic!) and a little smoked paprika. I dont' care of nutmeg in savory dishes (love it but only in sweet applications) so I omitted that. And I used a dry vermouth, because my sherry is a medium, and I didn't want to add sweetness. I also added a bit of fresly grated parmesan. I used an immersion blender and partially blended the mixture (left some chunks for texture). I will definitely make again, but next time I'll add a bit of fresh herb (thyme would probably be really good with it). It's very easy to put together, and it's good...that's a nice combination to make it a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very good and flavorful. I substituted leeks for the onion (it is the season here) and added one carrot to the cauliflowers. It ended up a bit thick for my taste even if I used only 1 1/2 tablespoon of flour, so I would suggest to have at hand some extra chicken broth and milk to adjust the consistency if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great Soup! I went by this recipe to the letter except I substituted white wine for the sherry. I lightened it up a little by using skim milk. Definitely worth more than 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAWKS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Liberty Township, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
In a word: FABULOUS! Since I had to double the recipe, I roasted a head of garlic with 2 heads of cauliflower in olive oil. I reserved some of the roasted cauliflower to add back into the soup puree at the end and I did use 1% milk 1 1/2 C only and found it to be plenty thick enough and rich enough without the added calories of milk or cream. I loved the addition of the sherry. I tend to gravitate toward that flavor so this was definitely what got my attention with this recipe. I can't wait to make it again. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This recipe tasts decadent. You cannot believe that you are only eating 135 calories. I could eat this every day and never grow tired of it. I used white wine instead of sherry (last minute outage discovery) and blended in it's entirety. For my husband (the meat eater) I threw some of the left over flank steak from the night before and he LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
i really wanted to like this-- i followed the recipe exactly and it was really overpowering and too thick-- sorry-- maybe i could add more broth next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
The nutty taste of this hearty soup from the roasting and the touch of nutmeg takes this over the top...well-worth five stars; and it is so simple to make! One of the few times I followed a recipe directions exactly and this recipe did not disappoint! This ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Wow, I never knew cauliflower could taste so good! I made it as written, only mashing the cauliflower after cooking and adding some parmesan when serving as some suggested. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good. I used a whole head of cauliflower but tripled the soup itself. I added a bit of cheese. when I served this, I topped it off with parmesan. My husband announced this as his new favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
awesome. Turned it into a vegan special, so stock instead of soup and milk. Used more nutmeg, a whole bulb of roasted garlic instead of garlic powder with the cauliflower and no sherry/alcohol. Also blended the whole pot load. Served with garlic bread. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States