Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I had to make two changes only because I am limited on ingredients. I did not have heavy whipping cream, I used equal amounts evaporated milk. I also did not have chervil, I useda little dried parsley and dried chives. Even with my substitutions, this soup turned out FANTASTIC. I've had it for lunch five days in a row with half of a tomato sandwich and I can't get enough. I love that it's low in carbs and low enough in calories so that if I wanted more (which I have), I can have seconds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I turned on the broiler to brown up the cauliflower.After the complete soup mixture cooked for 15-20 min, I pureed 3 cups of it for a smoother,creamier soup.Added small pieces of cooked smoky ham and dusted w Parmesan cheese.Wonderful combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Easy and delicious. I halved the recipe since my CSA box only came with one leek. Near the end, after adding the spices, I took my immerson blender to the larger chunks of cauliflower to smooth out the soup and make it more "soupy". This is a pretty thick soup and you could stretch it a bit by doing more water or broth if you need to. Both the favors of the cauliflower and leeks were on display.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made a few changes to this recipe, the most significant being the roasting time/temp on the cauliflower. I am not sure if 275 at 30 min is a typo or not, but that time/temp combo does not produce soft, browned cauliflower. I added an extra 10 min at 425 to the end of that cooking time. Next time I will do 20-25 min at 400. The other major change was that I added 3 strips of bacon (fried and crumbled) to the soup. Great! Minor changes included leaving out the flour (to eliminate carbs and because it really wasn't needed) and partially pureeing the soup with an immersion blender so it was thick and creamy with small cauliflower chunks. I also did not have chervil and used parsley instead. This is delicious soup and really resembles loaded baked potato soup when you top it with bacon crumbles and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Three-star rating for misinformation. I'm in the process of making this soup now, and the temperature is way off. 275 F doesn't come close to the temp necessary for roasting. I just raised the temp to 450 which is what many recipes recommend for roasting cauliflower. Blending part of the cauliflower sounds like a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Awesome soup....made it 2 months ago and because I haven't had cauliflower in the house i haven't made it again. Added 1/2 lb cooked bacon cut into 1" bites, and a couple potatoes cubed....Everyone loved it. The cauliflower was eaten up by our pickiest of eaters in the neighborhood...my 12 yr old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Love this soup, I added fresh parsley and dried chives instead of chervil...delicious! Oh, one other thing I did is cut back on the pepper, the first time I made it the pepper over powered the soup & I am a pepper lover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Yum! I could not make exactly as written. However, if I could have it would have been just as delish, if not more. I roasted caulif in oven with baby carrots, 2 garlic cloves, drizzled with olive oil. Meanwhile, leeks were sauteing in olive oil, soon after added 3 diced potatoes. Skipped the flour and heavy cream altogether. Instead, I found a cream of onion soup in the cabinet to add to the chick stock. No spices used except for S&P. Used immersion blender to "cream" all together after simmering all for about an hour. Topped with shredded cheddar. So so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Exquisite recipe! I made exactly as written except for the roasting part – I broiled it for 10-15 mins after I tried baking the cauliflower at 275 for 30 mins per the recipe instructions. I agree with the other posters that it must be a typo. I also decided to puree 3 cups per another users suggestion. The taste is phenomenal. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe chefsquig! It’s a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Loved it! Some changes I did: I sautéed onion, garlic and cauliflower instead of baking them. Added other ingredients except for milk and chives. Added fresh parsley and cayenne pepper. I puréed into a creamy consistency. Just perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States