Roasted Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is delicious as a sidedish, more so than a salad. I made EXACTLY as the recipe stated (for all you purists out there!), and I will make it again, but next time there are several minor things I'd do differently. #1 - I'd cut back on the oil, or perhaps omit the oil & spray the carrots with a spritz or two of Pam cooking spray before roasting (they get a little soggy with all that oil). #2 - increase the slivered almonds and the dried cranberries -- at least 1/2 cup of cranberries (which I soaked in hot water for a few minutes & then drained, to soften them). #3 - Decrease the blue cheese crumbles -- the flavor was a little over-powering! #4. Omit the argula or substitute baby spinach leaves. We ate it mixed with the greens at first, but then decided we liked it better as just a carrot/cranberry/almond sidedish, served at room temperature. Thanks for the recipe Morgan Nowicki. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Different but delicious. I did not measure ingredients but was close to the amounts called for in recipe. I did use feta cheese and spinach rather than blue cheese and arugala. Any combination would work that one prefers - it does not take away from the original recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a very delicious salad with a wonderful unique flavor, however I feel the blue cheese is much too strong and sharp for the delicateness of this salad. Next time I would use feta or goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Used gorganzolla....loved the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This wonderful salad deserves more than five stars!!!!! The very best salad I have ever made or tasted. Nothing to add to or take away on this one,it is perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I'm not one for cooked carrots but this was a great salad with lots of interesting flavors and textures. I'm thinking I'll try it with fresh spinach (versus arugula) next time. It was also great without the arugula! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Absolutely fabulous salad! The carrots are just the right balance of sweet and savory. The addition of blue cheese and cranberries makes it even more perfect, and the almonds give the perfect crunch. The carrots also make a great side dish by themselves without the greens and cranberries. I can't rave enough about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Delicious! This would be great served with Christmas dinner as the dried cranberries remind me of that time of the year. Only changes were the use of regular lettuce and baby carrots simply because I had them on hand. The sweet from the carrots, tart from the dried cranberries and tang from the blue cheese blend well together, no need for a vinaigrette of any sort. Simple and full of flavour! We'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Made exactly as the recipe stated - all I can say is this is FLIPPING DELICIOUS! My new favorite salad. Thanks for the recipe! This will be made a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
One of the best recipes I have ever made from this site! This was a huge success at our dinner party last night. I used Gorgonzola (husband doesn't like blue cheese). Doubled the garlic because we are big fans and used spring mix for Arugula because the market was out of just Arugula. Thanks Morgan for sharing my favorite new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States