Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This soup was delicious! I used extra onions, celery, and carrots and I used more half and half to make it creamier and it was perfect. I didn't use coriander and next time I'll skip the pumpkin seeds but the panko gives this soup just enough texture. This reheated well, without having to add more broth, for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I just made this and it turned out wonderful. I have never made soup before either so I can say with confidence that it is very easy to make. I followed the recipe almost exactly...except I left out the corriander and instead of using a potato masher I just mashed the squash with a fork...but it turned out wonderful. The panko breadcrumbs and the pumpkin seeds blended perectly on top of the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Perfect for a chilly night! I used granny smith apple instead of the celery. I also left out the coriander(I didn't have any on hand) I added a sprinkle of ground cinnamon at the end. Also, didn't have the pumpkin seeds or bread crumbs. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this exactly as is. Refrigerated and then reheated and added cream. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This soup was terrific! I'm not a huge fan of squash but my last CSA box had tons of it so I needed to figure out somethign to do with it all. I found this recipe and gave it a whirl. WOW! although the prep was a bit tedious (sorry, I'm not a huge cook and found this definitely took more than an hour in the kitchen) but was sooo worth it. I made only a few small subs due to what I had on hand - so I didn't use the breadcrumbs and garnished with roasted sunflower seeds instead - but the rest of the recipe I followed to a "t". It turned out awesome and I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Short cut: poke holes in your squash with a knife, microwave for 6 minutes, then peel, scoop out insides, cube and mix with baby carrots and a cut up onion inside a zip lock bag that you added olive oil, sea salt and pepper to. Dump out onto a foil lined cookie sheet and broil until soft and slightly browned. Then pureed in food processor and followed the rest of the steps, except I didn't add any celery, but added about 5 oz. of cream cheese instead of the 1/2 and 1/2. Fabulous aroma, great taste texture. Sooooo good on a rainy day with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
OMGOSH!!! Our Fave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I liked the tip of sauteing the squash, onion, celery, and carrots together. That's what I did and it turned out great. I used about half of a large amber cup squash. I'd say it was closer to 4 cups altogether. I also used a whole sweet onion and I had to use boullion because I ran out of broth. I put in a few dashes of "salt exotica" which is basically coriander, ginger, turmeric and garlic. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is such a great recipe. I used ground cinnamon instead of a stick. Vegetable broth, no pumpkin seeds or bread crumbs. I added half of a honeycrisp apple sliced thin in the saute onion/celery/carrot and it was fantastic! I'm going to add just a touch of coconut milk as soon as I get it from the store; although it's great without it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Amazing! Only mashed/did not puree- and served it over a spoonfull of rice. Also- did not have cream so I sprinkled some crumbled goat cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States