Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
AWESOME. I have never written a review before but this soup is SO GOOD I had to. I did not have coriander so added a little nutmeg while the flavors were melding. Also did not have half and half so used half a brick (4 oz) of low fat cream cheese. 16 oz of stock was enough to taste I think. I also added one can of tomatoes and a couple handfuls spinach. Everything blended wonderfully in my Ninja and made about 72 oz of soup (used a whole squash)! It is sweet but I like that! Am thinking of tinkering with it to make a healthy dessert filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Delicious. It is going to be great for our lunch next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
INCREDIBLE! A few years ago, I tried a roasted squash soup at a local restaurant. They wouldn't give me the recipe, and I've been wanting to try and make it on my own. This was the first recipe I've tried, and it was phenomenal. Way better than the restaurant's version! Overall, I left the ingredients pretty similar but changed the prep a little bit. I used a medium-sized butternut squash, which was about 9 cups, so I quadrupled the rest of the recipe. I sautéed the squash, and when it was brown, I dumped it in a roasting pan along with the onion, celery, and carrots. I drizzled a little olive oil over all and roasted for about 30 minutes at 400. I brought my stock to a boil, and I added about a tsp of cinnamon (didn't have cinnamon sticks), nutmeg (for fun), and cumin (didn't have roasted coriander). I then removed the celery, carrot, and onion from the roasting pan and added to stock. When veggies were soft, I strained them from the broth and blended in the blender. I blended the squash as well, and I had to add broth as needed to liquefy it better. When everything was blended well and stirred back together, I brought the soup to a low simmer and let it simmer for over an hour to thicken a little bit. In the end, I had about 15 cups of soup. I froze most of it and saved a small portion for my husband and I. I added the 1/2 and 1/2 to our portion and served for supper. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was a very good soup. Despite the fact I was disorganized, in a hurry and didn't follow the recipe as closely as I should have, it still came out pretty tasty! I look forward to trying it again when I can take a little more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Wow! Wow! Wow! Didn't use the carrots and coriander. Creamy, with a smooth texture, but not cream based (so less calories). Possibly the best soup we've ever eaten and definitely the best soup my husband ever ate. Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This soup is amazing!! I added brown sugar to sweeten it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I Loved it! I made this soup the other day with a few alterations. I doubled the amount of squash, added plane yogurt instead of half and half, and i added 2-3 tbs of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I liked the soup but added twice the carrots and celery. I increased the amount of cinnamon and added nutmeg. Next time I will try ginger. I did not like the taste of the chicken stock in the soup. Next time I will add vegetable stock instead. Roasting the squash added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Made this with only adding a bit more carrot and onion and a touch of ginger and nutmeg. It came out perfect! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
extremely tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States