Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Made this today because I had a butternut squash that I needed to use up. Followed the recipe exactly except I threw in one roasted sweet potato with the roasted squash. At the end I added a pinch of pumpkin pie spice because I didn't have any cinnamon sticks. The soup was delicious and I topped it with some sunflower seeds because I didn't have pumpkin seeds. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Awesome.! I made the roasted vegetable stock from A!R and skipped the olive oil and vegetables step and just blended the hot stock and roasted butternut squash. I did add 1/2tsp ground cinnamon and ground coriander. Also a rounded tablespoon Plus of brown sugar and about a half a cup of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Really good, kids still wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot long spoon but I always have a back up idea for them anyway...added yogurt and left out coriander, seeds and bread crumbs...I only have a nutribullet so blending was a pain, but that doesn't mean this recipe doesn't rock! Will make again, hopefully after I get a vitamix blender! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is the best butternut squash soup I've ever had! Restaurants can't even make it this good. I haven't used the coriander, and find I get better flavor with ground cinnamon than when I made it with a cinnamon stick. Using a blender was a disaster for me and I've since switched to an immersion blender. So much easier! I usually add a little more of everything than is called for and just go by taste. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Absolutely Fabulous! Thanksgiving was the first time that I prepared this dish and it got rave reviews! Thnx so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celestine
Living In: West Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving. My 5-year-old nephew, who is a very picky eater and almost never eats vegetables, ate an entire bowl! His mother even asked for the recipe. I used ? chicken stock and ? vegetable stock, just because I had it in my pantry. Everyone loved it. When is soup the best part of Thanksgiving?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
AWESOME. I have never written a review before but this soup is SO GOOD I had to. I did not have coriander so added a little nutmeg while the flavors were melding. Also did not have half and half so used half a brick (4 oz) of low fat cream cheese. 16 oz of stock was enough to taste I think. I also added one can of tomatoes and a couple handfuls spinach. Everything blended wonderfully in my Ninja and made about 72 oz of soup (used a whole squash)! It is sweet but I like that! Am thinking of tinkering with it to make a healthy dessert filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Delicious. It is going to be great for our lunch next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
INCREDIBLE! A few years ago, I tried a roasted squash soup at a local restaurant. They wouldn't give me the recipe, and I've been wanting to try and make it on my own. This was the first recipe I've tried, and it was phenomenal. Way better than the restaurant's version! Overall, I left the ingredients pretty similar but changed the prep a little bit. I used a medium-sized butternut squash, which was about 9 cups, so I quadrupled the rest of the recipe. I sautéed the squash, and when it was brown, I dumped it in a roasting pan along with the onion, celery, and carrots. I drizzled a little olive oil over all and roasted for about 30 minutes at 400. I brought my stock to a boil, and I added about a tsp of cinnamon (didn't have cinnamon sticks), nutmeg (for fun), and cumin (didn't have roasted coriander). I then removed the celery, carrot, and onion from the roasting pan and added to stock. When veggies were soft, I strained them from the broth and blended in the blender. I blended the squash as well, and I had to add broth as needed to liquefy it better. When everything was blended well and stirred back together, I brought the soup to a low simmer and let it simmer for over an hour to thicken a little bit. In the end, I had about 15 cups of soup. I froze most of it and saved a small portion for my husband and I. I added the 1/2 and 1/2 to our portion and served for supper. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was a very good soup. Despite the fact I was disorganized, in a hurry and didn't follow the recipe as closely as I should have, it still came out pretty tasty! I look forward to trying it again when I can take a little more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States