Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
extremely tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
A great recipe, though I did make some modifications. I stuck the pumpkin in the microwave instead of roasting it; didn't have any celery; added extra carrots; used vegetable bullion instead of chicken broth, and added a bit of cumin. I don't think cream or anything like that is at all necessary. The cinnamon stick adds wonderful flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Thank you for this amazing recipe and very easy to follow instructions. For those who don't have pumpkin seeds on hand, it is very easy to toast the butternut squash seeds and use those in place of pumpkin seeds. Separate the seeds from the stringy mass, then boil in 2 cups water with 1 tbsp salt for every 1/2 cup of seeds for about 10 minutes. Use more salt if you like saltier seeds. Toss them in a little olive oil and bake in a single layer in 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes. They will keep for days on your counter if closed tightly in a container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very Yummy and EASY!!! I doubled the recipe and used one Butternut squash and one Acorn squash. I also roasted the carrots and onions with the squash for a deeper flavor. I didn't add the half and half because my husband is dairy free.... didn't miss it at all! This may be my new go to squash soup recipe! Kids gave it a thumbs up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Loved this recipe! I left out the coriander because I didn't have it and did not use the half and half, pumpkin seeds or panko. I just used the vegtables. If you roast all the veggies it gives it very roasted taste. I also ajusted the test by using more carrots. It is an all around great basic soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This soup was delicious! I used extra onions, celery, and carrots and I used more half and half to make it creamier and it was perfect. I didn't use coriander and next time I'll skip the pumpkin seeds but the panko gives this soup just enough texture. This reheated well, without having to add more broth, for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I just made this and it turned out wonderful. I have never made soup before either so I can say with confidence that it is very easy to make. I followed the recipe almost exactly...except I left out the corriander and instead of using a potato masher I just mashed the squash with a fork...but it turned out wonderful. The panko breadcrumbs and the pumpkin seeds blended perectly on top of the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Perfect for a chilly night! I used granny smith apple instead of the celery. I also left out the coriander(I didn't have any on hand) I added a sprinkle of ground cinnamon at the end. Also, didn't have the pumpkin seeds or bread crumbs. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this exactly as is. Refrigerated and then reheated and added cream. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This soup was terrific! I'm not a huge fan of squash but my last CSA box had tons of it so I needed to figure out somethign to do with it all. I found this recipe and gave it a whirl. WOW! although the prep was a bit tedious (sorry, I'm not a huge cook and found this definitely took more than an hour in the kitchen) but was sooo worth it. I made only a few small subs due to what I had on hand - so I didn't use the breadcrumbs and garnished with roasted sunflower seeds instead - but the rest of the recipe I followed to a "t". It turned out awesome and I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States