Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Short cut: poke holes in your squash with a knife, microwave for 6 minutes, then peel, scoop out insides, cube and mix with baby carrots and a cut up onion inside a zip lock bag that you added olive oil, sea salt and pepper to. Dump out onto a foil lined cookie sheet and broil until soft and slightly browned. Then pureed in food processor and followed the rest of the steps, except I didn't add any celery, but added about 5 oz. of cream cheese instead of the 1/2 and 1/2. Fabulous aroma, great taste texture. Sooooo good on a rainy day with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
OMGOSH!!! Our Fave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I liked the tip of sauteing the squash, onion, celery, and carrots together. That's what I did and it turned out great. I used about half of a large amber cup squash. I'd say it was closer to 4 cups altogether. I also used a whole sweet onion and I had to use boullion because I ran out of broth. I put in a few dashes of "salt exotica" which is basically coriander, ginger, turmeric and garlic. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is such a great recipe. I used ground cinnamon instead of a stick. Vegetable broth, no pumpkin seeds or bread crumbs. I added half of a honeycrisp apple sliced thin in the saute onion/celery/carrot and it was fantastic! I'm going to add just a touch of coconut milk as soon as I get it from the store; although it's great without it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Amazing! Only mashed/did not puree- and served it over a spoonfull of rice. Also- did not have cream so I sprinkled some crumbled goat cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very good! Used ground cinnamon, left out the pumpkin seeds, coriander, and half and half. Added nutmeg too. Served with salad and whole wheat rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
So good. All my friends and family members loved this soup, and are always surprised when I say the main ingredient! I use nonfat greek yogurt instead of half-and-half. I've been told that this dish almost tastes like a curry and could go great on top of rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The texture of this soup was great, but I thought the flavor was lacking something - and I LOVE squash soups! My husband agreed. If I make this again, I will probably use 2 cinnamon sticks, more squash and add some brown sugar. But, it seems I'm in the minority here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very simple and delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Wonderful! I served the extra mashed butternut squash as a side with our dinner that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States