Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Excellent. I also added the carrots to the squash in the oven. Did add additional milk at the end to thin it a bit. But, terrific overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Delicious!! Got rave reviews from hubby and neighbors! A keeper! Added abt 1/4 cup whipping cream a few minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenhurst, Georgia, USA
Living In: Colfax, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Great recipe, but I decided to omit the celery, and just added more carrots and onion. I also used sour cream and whole milk instead of half n' half and used ground cinnamon instead of a stick. The fam ate it all up in no time! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
We live in Japan and I used a kabocha, which is a native pumpkin. This soup was absolutely DELISH!!! I made extra pumpkin purée and look forward to making this soup again! My kids loved it! You won't be disappointed making this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Disliked! Tooooo thin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made this tonight and the husband and I loved it! The kids were on the fence, but ate some. I did not add the half-half, but served sour cream on the side which we loved in addition to the soup without (try both, very delicious but different!) Could not find pumpkin seeds but did offer the toasted planko. Added celery salt, coriander seed (not toasted) and baked the Acorn squash (no butternut available when I got to store.) Used small-medium onion, 5 carrots or so, medium squash and 2 cinnamon sticks and low salt chicken broth. Recommend! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The best roasted butternut squash soup I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is a yummy soup. Everyone in my family loved it. We made it after receiving an abundance of squash from our CSA and served it with fresh apples and hearty bread. I was hesitant to use cinnamon and coriander, but the flavors were really good. Even my extremely picky eaters ate it and proclaimed it 'Good'. update: I have made this soup several times -- each time the result was different but still yummy. I think the amount of broth and seasonings will depend on the squash -- and now add until I get the result I want. I also cook everything in a big cast iron dutch oven, first on the stove then in the oven. I cook all the vegetables at the same time, and puree in the pot. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Good flavor, but not thick like typical butternut squash soup. I like when it's super thick, like baby food! This soup is like chicken soup with some squash thrown in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
it's delicious! very creamy, didn't use the half and half. Small portion though : might double it next time for leftover freezing purposes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States