Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Loved it! I omitted the cinnamon stick, 1/2 & 1/2 and coriander. I doubled the squash, carrots & celery. I also added 1/2 c. milk, zucchini, & cinnamon. I roasted the squash in the oven for 1 hour instead of sauting it. Make sure it's liquified! This soup is not good chunky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My boyfriend said it was the best soup he had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Had to use up a butternut squash, so I figured why not. Turns out this recipe is actually really amazing! Prepared as written, except I didn't have celery, so i used a bit of celery salt, a whole yellow onion, and no cream as I can't have dairy (toyed with the idea of using almond milk but left it out). Mmmm yummy! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
What a delightful blend of sweet and savoury. I didn't have half and half but just added 1T of cream per bowl before serving and it was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was a GREAT starter. I did not add anything, but i did omit the half & half. This turned out very sweet, almost too sweet. Had to dunk some sourdough french bread every other bite. But it was so yummy and filling i still gave it four stars. Just can't eat alot of it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Tasty! For the sake of laziness, I just did the carrots and onion with the squash in the oven and then mashed it all with a potato masher, then put the whole mixture along with spices in my turkey broth to simmer for a bit, then into the blender. Saves a step. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This soup is fabulous! I just became a huge fan of squash and now I am trying to learn to cook it in every way possible. After reading all the reviews I decide not to add any half and half, yogurt, or sour cream. The ground corriander and the cinnamon really give this soup a warm feeling. I did not add the pumpkin seeds or bread crumbs either. I had a salad and some homemade bread with mine and it is definitely a keeper. This recipe definitely only serves 4. The next time I will double the batch. I just rewarmed my soup for lunch and it is even better today!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
It is sooooo delicious! I didnt even use the 1/2 & 1/2, or any yougurt and it was devine and super low cal then i would suspect! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Maybe it was the homegrown organic squash I used, or the homemade goose broth, but this was AMAZING. The squash never really browned in the oven even though I left it in there twice as long, and it's not as thick as the recipe says, but it is phenomenally delicious. The cinnamon really adds that extra zing to the sweet squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent!! Added a little sprinkle of cinnamon and ginger to the soup just before serving. Everyone LOVED it! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States