Roasted Butternut Squash, Olive and Parmesan Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This was excellent. I didn't use the olives--although I love olives, I didn't think they would go very well with this recipe. Otherwise, excellnt. I used about 3 cups of broth instead of a quart--the rice was done cooking with 3 cups. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Absolutely TASTY!!!! We had a lot of mayhem tonight...a grease fire, I almost burned the squash, and I didn't have the right cheese *ah*! but this came out great no matter! It got raves from both my roommy and myself...I ended up substituting the parm for cheddar and definately added the chicken broth a bit faster than recommended ...oh, and 1 tblsp of dried parsley instead of fresh but this is so so good and satisfying!! I also think you could get the cooking time down to about an hour if you put in the squash as you begin to make the rice and half it before you cook (putting the cut sides down on the cooking sheet) A keeper all the way!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Based on the mixed reviews, I only used 1/4 cup of olives, but I just didn't think the flavor combination was a good one. Next time, I will omit the olives because everything else about this recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I left out the olives but kept the pimientos and grilled the squash instead of roasting it. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupalicious

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Unlike other reviewers I did not think this receipe was too much work. It does have to be stirred, but stirring isn't hard. We loved this recipe and I thought everything about it was perfect. I served this with fish. It is the perfect way to use that fall vegatable, squash. I highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This recipe was good, the risotto turned out nice and creamy and the squash gave a beautiful color and flavor, but next time I would half the amount of olives and cut them into smaller pieces, they were visiually nice but the flavor of the big pieces was too much for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Like the other reviewers suggested, I left out the olives. I understand that the olive company created this recipe but there is no need for them in this risotto! The result of 45 minutes worth of stirring is....good. Not spectacular or even very good. It is cheesy so you may want to adjust that. Also, I would suggest topping this with roasted asparagus. As far as roasting goes, I slit the squash in half and roasted them for an hour alongside an oiled and foiled head of garlic. Add these at the last minute. Good side dish but A LOT of work so make sure your main dish is a crock pot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe was wonderful--without the olives. I'm not quite sure why they were in the original recipe. Olives don't seem to go with the other flavors in the squash, garlic, and risotto. The two other reviews seem to reference the "interesting" combination. I think this accounts for why there were some mixed ratings. Leave the olives out, follow the recipe, and it will be delicious! Great with a mesclun green salad or a side of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
My other half thought this was fantastic and would like it again tomorrow night.But I thought this was only OK as it is very sweet for a main dish. I love all the ingredients but together it didn't quite work. I think I probably just prefer my butternut squash spicy. It has given me an idea of making a dish similar to this with pasta, pesto & olives with cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I went to a restaurant and had a very similar dish that I loved, so I came home and was pleasantly surprised to find this recipe. It was a little bit salty even with my low-sodium broth; I think slightly fewer olives could've been used. I don't like onions, so I left those out, but added some mushrooms. The restaurant recipe had prawns and mushrooms, but not olives; maybe next time I will add prawns, too. The dish was colorful. I loved it, but my husband didn't because he doesn't like squash. It is a unique dish that might not be for everyone, and it's a bit time-consuming to make. If you like all the listed ingredients, you'll probably like it. I used Asiago cheese instead of parmessan because that's what was in the restaurant recipe I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States