Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I can't tell you all how good this was!!!! Let's just say that for Thanksgiving I had about 20 different things to eat and this was the only thing that was completely gone. Half the people there said this was their favorite. Here's what I did different: I used 12 noodles instead of 9 and dipped them in boiling water as some of the reviews said the noodles were too hard after baking. I also added more flour since my sauce was not thickening (about 2 tablespoons more). I also added one large sauteed onion to the garlic mix. This dish was beyond good and I'll be making it again and again. I was a little nervous about the heavy cream on top but it was great. I baked the lasagna for about 45 min total and then let it sit for a cpouple of hours (to be timed with dinner) and then warmed it up in the over before serving. BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO!!!!! UPDATE: Made this again. I used a Vidallia onion. It worked wonderfully. For the topping I used half and half and just stired some salt into it (didn't have a mixer where I was baking). You don't lose any bit of flavor with that sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Super yummy and different. My friend made this for me and I made it for the first time tonight, the only thing I noticed different from the recipe was that it took about 20 minutes for the top of the lasagna to brown in the oven. I can't wait to make this for my extended family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is probably one of the most spectacular Havest Dinners I have had in a long time...not only because of taste, gourmet qualities and easiness...just plain exceptional! Do not change a thing. Restaurant quality......if your squash weighs a little more use it. Thank you so much for such a fine new recipe! Do you have any more recipes to share......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Barrenger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I followed the directions as listed. The texture and taste was what I expected, delicious! The dish was a wonderful compliment to the spicy meatballs I served. Thank you for submitting such a unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I did a baked pasta variation of this recipe and it was delightful. I love the taste combination, and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenw

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Amazing. Easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Orcashottie
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This recipe was amazing! Quick and easy to prepare and not a lot of clean-up. My only suggestion is that next time I will use about a third less milk. It doesn't really need a whole quart. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orcashottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Eastsound, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was AMAZING! I spread some home-made pesto on the noodles while assembling the lasagna, but other than that, followed the recipe. I served it for a dinner party and got rave reviews from all the guests. Will definately be making it again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was really good and fairly easy. I added a lot more spices than the recipe called for - allspice, a little cinnamon, chili powder, and a bit of basil. I also just mixed some ricotta, mozzarella, and cream to make the creamy top layer. We loved it and the leftovers are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysandramarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Oh wow. I was unsure what to think of this recipe as I made it, but it turned out incredible. Made recipe as written, except added a bit more flour and some nutmeg to the sauce. Had everything ready to go, but then realized I had somehow managed to forget to add about a 1/4 of the squash to the sauce. Not wanting to waste, I sprinkled the remaining squash over the top and put some slices of mozz over the top. UNBELIEVABLE. OH, also added crumbled bacon to the two layers (hubby hates anything without meat). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States