Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
The concept was good. The sauce was a little on the boring side, hitting only a few flavor notes. Still, I'll likely use the concept again but play with the flavorings in the squash bechmel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was excellent and actually lighter than I expected. I followed the instructions exactly when it came to preparing the butternut squash sauce and it came out perfect. I omitted the heavy cream whipped topping. I really didn't understand the purpose and it just didn't seem necessary. After reading some other reviews, I included sauteed spinach in the bottom layer of the lasagna (on top of the first layer of the pasta). In the layer above that, I spread fresh diced tomatoes. I also added mozzarella cheese to each layer, and then on top like a traditional lasagna (instead of the heavy whipped topping). With these changes it was full of flavor, yet still light enough to taste like a vegetarian meal. Served with green beans and we were in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I was excited to try this, but was a complete let down. This was overly RICH, heavy, lacking in flavour and just boring. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is amazing! I made it in two 8x8 lasagna pans and froze it right away before baking. When we were ready to eat one, I put it (frozen) into the oven and baked at 375 for 1 hour covered with foil and 30 minutes without. Sooo good! I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
3.75 Did add more garlic and cannot see the merit in whipping the cream, pouring it on would have had same effect. Had fresh lasagne so nothing would be tough. Guess it needs basil or spinach or something per previous reviewer, kinda greasy, good, but not to be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Needed a little bit more substance than it had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMAA77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is wonderful, and just as good the next day. I actually didn't mind eating leftovers several days in a row. I made it as written, and also with regular lasagne noodles, cooked according to the package. I think that it is much better with the regular noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I think it is a great dish to serve on the side of maybe a roasted or smoked meat. This has a nice mellow flavor and creamy texture. I did add some fresh spinach as a layer in mine to add some color to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was DELISH!!!!! my hubby usually is not a big fan of vegetarian dishes, he always likes a little bit of meat in hiss food if possible, but he had seconds and thirds on this dish! I loved it too. I didnt know what to expect when I first made it, but it tasted amazingly! I will make it when I we have people over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I'll definitely make this again - probably as a side dish for Christmas dinner. Even my die-hard meat & potatoes sons had seconds and thirds - lol. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States