Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I can't tell you all how good this was!!!! Let's just say that for Thanksgiving I had about 20 different things to eat and this was the only thing that was completely gone. Half the people there said this was their favorite. Here's what I did different: I used 12 noodles instead of 9 and dipped them in boiling water as some of the reviews said the noodles were too hard after baking. I also added more flour since my sauce was not thickening (about 2 tablespoons more). I also added one large sauteed onion to the garlic mix. This dish was beyond good and I'll be making it again and again. I was a little nervous about the heavy cream on top but it was great. I baked the lasagna for about 45 min total and then let it sit for a cpouple of hours (to be timed with dinner) and then warmed it up in the over before serving. BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO!!!!! UPDATE: Made this again. I used a Vidallia onion. It worked wonderfully. For the topping I used half and half and just stired some salt into it (didn't have a mixer where I was baking). You don't lose any bit of flavor with that sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is soooo delicious! I can't stop eating it! I did add a layer of fresh spinach for color but either way it is a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
HUGE hit - I was stunned at the reactions of my husband and guests. I omited the whipping cream entirely and didn't miss it. I added fresh basil leaves to each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavinSunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
WOW! And I thought this lasagna was pretty good the day I made it, but the next day it was amazing! I took some of the suggestions made by others: I added a layer in the center of fresh spinach (which I topped with mozzerella), I added sweet onion to the sauce, and I dipped the lasagna noodles in boiling water for 20 seconds before cooking. It came out perfect . . . this recipe is a keeper and a must repeat for my family! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clmurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Having everything on hand, company in the house, including a vegetarian, and looking for something yummy to make for dinner between Christmas and New Years, this is what I decided on. I've had this recipe sitting in my box for a couple of months and finally gave it it's just due. This was extremely easy to assemble. I roasted the squash in the morning and had that ready when it came time to make dinner. Followed the recipe exactly, however, I did add a bit of nutmeg to the sauce and when layering also added some mozzarella cheese in addition to the Parmesan. Just a simple delicious meal with many happy groans from everyone around the table. I served it with a spinach salad, and hot garlic bread. Thanks for submitting a great recipe. Now I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a pretty good recipe as is. I added nutmeg, but otherwise stuck to the original and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I think it is a great dish to serve on the side of maybe a roasted or smoked meat. This has a nice mellow flavor and creamy texture. I did add some fresh spinach as a layer in mine to add some color to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Creamy and delicious! I made three layers and used a few more noodles. I also added some fresh spinach to one of the layers, some mozzerella to all layers and on top. SOoooo good! Next time, I will add more garlic since I'm a garlic freak! My 4 year old even liked it (I made 1/4 of it without the spinach for her).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I loved this dish! My husband (who is a meat-eater) loved this more than me :) I used the other reviewer's suggestion and added spinach and I also added a bit of red pepper to the dish which added a nice bite to the butternut squash sweetness. Will definitely be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Great! I did make a few adjustments. I used wontons instead of no cook lasagna noodles. Double them if you want a thicker noodle but I like the wontons b/c I don't like the thicker traditional lasagna noodles. I did add a dollop of ricotta cheese in the center of each wonton, smashing to spread it out a little. Also, sprinkle fresh basil on all the layers. I increased the creamy mixture by using 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 c. flour and 6 cups milk (3 c. whole, 3 c. 1%) I love the whipped cream topping sprinkled with parmasean. My dish browned up very nicely unlike the photo. I did forget to add freshly grated nutmeg before cooking but will sprinkle very lightly on top before serving. If one wanted a more traditional lasagna dish one could add mozzerella cheese. I did not b/c I was trying to hold down the calories. Delish dish for a cool fall or winter day! Also, good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States