Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Wow!!!!! Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Having everything on hand, company in the house, including a vegetarian, and looking for something yummy to make for dinner between Christmas and New Years, this is what I decided on. I've had this recipe sitting in my box for a couple of months and finally gave it it's just due. This was extremely easy to assemble. I roasted the squash in the morning and had that ready when it came time to make dinner. Followed the recipe exactly, however, I did add a bit of nutmeg to the sauce and when layering also added some mozzarella cheese in addition to the Parmesan. Just a simple delicious meal with many happy groans from everyone around the table. I served it with a spinach salad, and hot garlic bread. Thanks for submitting a great recipe. Now I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
AMAZING! If you are looking to try something new and love butternut squash - this is a must try! I added a lil spinach as the other uses mentioned and it gave it a nice texture and hint of green. I think I have told everyone about this recipe - so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Oh wow. I was unsure what to think of this recipe as I made it, but it turned out incredible. Made recipe as written, except added a bit more flour and some nutmeg to the sauce. Had everything ready to go, but then realized I had somehow managed to forget to add about a 1/4 of the squash to the sauce. Not wanting to waste, I sprinkled the remaining squash over the top and put some slices of mozz over the top. UNBELIEVABLE. OH, also added crumbled bacon to the two layers (hubby hates anything without meat). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is probably one of the most spectacular Havest Dinners I have had in a long time...not only because of taste, gourmet qualities and easiness...just plain exceptional! Do not change a thing. Restaurant quality......if your squash weighs a little more use it. Thank you so much for such a fine new recipe! Do you have any more recipes to share......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Barrenger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I can't tell you all how good this was!!!! Let's just say that for Thanksgiving I had about 20 different things to eat and this was the only thing that was completely gone. Half the people there said this was their favorite. Here's what I did different: I used 12 noodles instead of 9 and dipped them in boiling water as some of the reviews said the noodles were too hard after baking. I also added more flour since my sauce was not thickening (about 2 tablespoons more). I also added one large sauteed onion to the garlic mix. This dish was beyond good and I'll be making it again and again. I was a little nervous about the heavy cream on top but it was great. I baked the lasagna for about 45 min total and then let it sit for a cpouple of hours (to be timed with dinner) and then warmed it up in the over before serving. BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO!!!!! UPDATE: Made this again. I used a Vidallia onion. It worked wonderfully. For the topping I used half and half and just stired some salt into it (didn't have a mixer where I was baking). You don't lose any bit of flavor with that sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe but used a kabocha squash from a friend's garden. I added a little nutmeg and added toasted pine nuts to each layer. Next time I think I'll also add a little sage. It was great! The whipped cream on top seemed odd but worked fine. My only complaint is the high fat content - but it's so filling you won't eat too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Really good! Tastes really cheesy without all the mozzarella :) I also put some spinach in middle layer for added health benefits, and it worked great. Not sure about the whipped cream on top of the lasagna, and I may leave it out next time, but there WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great meatless dinner. Tried using smoked mozarella, awesome. I did omit the whipped cream on top, became a pool of grease during baking. Planning to take this as a turkey alternative for a family Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
it was definitely yummy, however, the no cook noodles were not soft enough. I will probably pre-cook them next time. good flavor and fairly simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Makaha, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States