Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was really good! I did modifications to make it lower fat. I used skim milk instead of reagular milk and only used about 3 cups. I also left out the cream step and I think that would have made it over the top rich so I am glad I didn't use it. I added a layer of spinach and also chopped up some onion that I added to the butternut mixture. I didn't have enough parmesan so I added skim milk mozzarella. I also added some nutmeg and thank goodness I did because it would have been super bland without it. I pre-soaked my noodles and that worked super well. My husband did not like it, but it would be a fantastic treat for guests as it is tasty and filling, but not too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
My husband and I weren't too excited about this one. It was good, but it really needed something. Maybe sausage. I think it's a good base for building on and will definitely do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was very, very good - even my two-year-old ate it. The butternut squash goes so well with the garlic. I didn't use the whipped cream topping - instead going with a classic ricotta/egg/mozarella mixture. Next time I will take some other's advice and add pesto and/or spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Delish to the MAX! Yum! My husband and I made this for dinner last night for "Meatless Monday" and we both loved it! We have half the pan left for dinner tonight and I'm already thinking about making it again..haha. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is FANTASTIC! I also added layers of raw spinach before cooking and served over a bed of raw spinach for an extra veggie. I cut out the cream topping for dieting purposes although I am sure it would be amazing. Even my 11yr old son was "surprised" that it actually tasted good, ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was awesome. I followed the recipe except that I used regular lasagna noodles and cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is my favorite receipt ever! My husband and kids that hate all things squash loved this! I added a little Larry's Seasoning Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
AS is, I give this 4 stars. The only change I made to the lasagna recipe was adding fresh basil. I poured a LITTLE bit of water over the top noodles, since others mentioned they didnt cook all the way, maybe 1/8 cup? VERY little, but enough for the noodles to have something to absorb and they were great. FOR 5 STARS: On the side I made a mushroom sauce, and tried both without and with the sauce spread on top. The sauce made this OUTSTANDING!! 5 stars for sure! The savory mushrooms went SO well with the sweet squash. I got the idea from a restaurant that made butternut squash/mushroom lasagna, the butternut squash was like the cheese and the mushroom was the sauce, and it was made just like regular cheese lasagna. AMAZING I love it. Despite being a little labor-intensive, I will definitely make this again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
WOW! And I thought this lasagna was pretty good the day I made it, but the next day it was amazing! I took some of the suggestions made by others: I added a layer in the center of fresh spinach (which I topped with mozzerella), I added sweet onion to the sauce, and I dipped the lasagna noodles in boiling water for 20 seconds before cooking. It came out perfect . . . this recipe is a keeper and a must repeat for my family! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clmurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
freeking delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel :D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States