Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is yummy but A LOT of work. I did add the onion and spinach, as others suggested, and omitted the cream but put chunks of fresh mozzarella on top. My 18 month old son LOVED it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made this the way the recipe called except for two things. i added finely chopped vidalia onion and I used the regular boiled lasagna noodles. It was good, but time consuming and it was missing something. I think some herbs or something else I can't quite put my finger on. Definitely add the onion. It would have been extremely bland without that. I will be making again but with more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
SO good! I did add some onion in with the garlic. I also left off the whipped cream. Instead I saved a very small amount of the squash sauce for the top layer and put a bit a fresh mozzarella on top. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I've made this a couple times now. I like that it doesn't include a lot of cheese so it makes me think it is healthier than traditional lasagna. The first time I followed the recipe as is and and it was good, but I wanted some more flavors. The second time I used a bit more garlic and layered fresh spinach leaves and some cooked mild Italian pork sausage in with the noodles. I sprinkled dried parsley on top before baking. I'll make it that way again. In fact, I think the original recipe is a good base to experiment with. Thanks for sharing Anna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Really good. Could use just a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have made this several times. I have never put the heavy cream mix on and don't miss it at all. I have made a few small changes. I layer in the following manner - squash sauce, noodles, sauce, parm, noodles, basil pesto, mozzarella, noodles, sauce, parm, noodles, sauce, mozzarella and parm. My family can't wait to have this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ClammerNana
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I roasted both the garlic and butternut squash and together in the cream sauce they create an incredible flavor. It's luscious! While the squash was roasting in the oven, I put dry noodles in a 9 x 13 pan on the stove and poured HOT water over them. They were soft by the time the squash came out of the oven! I made the white sauce with nonfat milk and used fat free half and half on top. I also chopped fresh spinach and put it in each layer. This dish is perfect for a casual family dinner or as a side dish for a more sophisticated dinner party. I give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClammerNana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Tasty but very rich. One slice per person is definitely adequate. We used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of whipping cream (so no layer or cream on top) and used mozarella cheese (because that's what we had on hand). Tasty. Big hit at Thanksgiving feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was fantastic! I made three major changes: I used a sugar pumpkin instead of a squash, I made my own lasagna noodles (which I boiled for about a minute since they were raw), and added fresh nutmeg. I brought this to a pot luck and it was the first thing to go. The whipped cream sort of threw me, but since it was so moist and decadent, it might have been added just to make sure nothing dried out as it baked in the oven. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is fantastic. Followed the advice of other reviewers and added 2 layers of fresh spinach -- didn't make the dish taste "spinach-y" at all. Definitely skip the whipped cream; the dish is plenty rich without it. Lastly, I fried up a little sage and added it in when I added the squash. The herb gave it a more rounded flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States