Roasted Butternut Squash and Garlic Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Soooo disappointed. I wanted to l o v e this. 'Wasn't bad, but pretty much butternut bisque with parmesan. I even added another squash to lessen the creaminess. I added minced onion as so many others suggested. To me, eventhough it was only a quarter cup (for two butternuts & the rest of the ingredients as listed), it was very strong tasting instead of a flavor enhancer. I didn't add garlic since butternut is so delicate. Onions weren't old, but still no doubt they were in there. Final note: not bad for soup, but a lot of work & dishes. If you're going to try this, buy the frozen squash & save yourself a little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this tonight and it was really good but it is rich. I, like many others, tweaked the recipe some. I sauteed the garlic, onions and mushrooms and then added that to the butternut squash. I also added nutmeg to the sauce like several suggested. I also layered with fresh spinach and it was really good. To cut some calories I used fat free half and half so I just poured it over the top, but next time I will make a little extra butternut squash filling and put that on top with some cheese. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Thank you for this recipe! I LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalisa99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremond, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I added more garlic, some nutmeg, and some cinnamon. Delish! I had some trouble getting the cream to whip, so I ended up just doing what other reviewers suggested and pour the cream over the top. I definitely did not use a whole cup though, probably half a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I added spinach at the very bottom and in the middle. It was super good, but kind of time consuming, next time I think I will eliminate the heavy cream, would be good with just the cheese. All in all, it get's a yummy from this reviewer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Amazing recipe! I added some fresh basil as one reviewer suggested and omitted the cream to reduce the calories. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was wonderful! One of my favorite recipes from this sight. Made it exactly as directed and although I am prone to tweaking and changing recipes, there is no way I would change a thing about this one. Thank you so much (and your dear aunt too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I tried this recipe last night and it was excellent! I did make a few modifications after reading the suggestions by others. I added a whole bag of frozen spinach to add color and nutrition; I put the spinach on top of the 2nd layer of sauce. I also took the suggestion of adding onion. I did this by sauteeing a whole chopped yellow onion in the butter, before adding the garlic for another 1-2 minutes. I also added about 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper to the sauce- an excellent suggestion from my husband! I didn't whip the cream before pouring it on top- perhaps the reason for a few crunchy noodles on top. We are healthy omnivores and we did NOT find this dish at all bland, and it was not overly rich. I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by closrtofine

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Great! I did make a few adjustments. I used wontons instead of no cook lasagna noodles. Double them if you want a thicker noodle but I like the wontons b/c I don't like the thicker traditional lasagna noodles. I did add a dollop of ricotta cheese in the center of each wonton, smashing to spread it out a little. Also, sprinkle fresh basil on all the layers. I increased the creamy mixture by using 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 c. flour and 6 cups milk (3 c. whole, 3 c. 1%) I love the whipped cream topping sprinkled with parmasean. My dish browned up very nicely unlike the photo. I did forget to add freshly grated nutmeg before cooking but will sprinkle very lightly on top before serving. If one wanted a more traditional lasagna dish one could add mozzerella cheese. I did not b/c I was trying to hold down the calories. Delish dish for a cool fall or winter day! Also, good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This was so good, but a lot of work. I added sautéed mushrooms, and spinach in another layer. I didn't use the cream sauce, and it was fantastic. I will make again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States