Roasted Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is one of my favorite vegetables to roast and this was a great recipe find. I did change the oil to either grapeseed or avocado; they are high heat oils and it brings the flavor of the brussel sprouts out more without charring. I also used Himalayan Pink Sea Salt and fresh ground Tellicherry pepper for seasoning, what an amazing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunellen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
absolutely delicious!! I converted my 60 year old father, a lifelong brussel sprout hater with this dish, he loves them. Also, my 2 year old son craves this dish. (You should see the clearly impressed and approving looks I get from other parents in the grocery store when they hear my outspoken little toddler loudly begging that mommy buy him brussel sprouts!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
It's very tasty and requires little attention. Leaves time for getting rest of your dinner ready for a relaxing evening and bonus of yummy leftovers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Add a few red pepper flakes and garlic powder to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great, simple, even my daughter liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Delicious! I made it basically as written, though I did cut the sprouts in half. I covered the baking sheet with aluminum foil for easier cleanup. Instead of plain kosher salt, I used a sea salt/lemon pepper combination that I had on hand. My 18 year old, who doesn't like veggies, had eaten more than a serving before the bowl made it to the table. The 11 year old wasn't a fan, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I just made this for my family tonight. My 10 yr old daughter really enjoyed it. The little crispy leaves that fell off were very good. My husband and I liked those the best. My son, 8 1/2, didn't like it, but oh well. He is picky these days. I will watch the salt next time. Definitely a keeper. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I have used this recipe numerous time and it's a family fav! The only change I made was to cut the salt to a 1/2 teaspoon (and I love salt....). Found a whole teaspoon was a bit too much. Brussels sprouts became a new staple at my house and this recipe is the reason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Would probably cook it for a shorter time - they were a little soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Just had this tonight. Normally, I just heat frozen Brussels sprouts in the microwave for a quick side of veg. But we were already having leftovers so I decided to make this. Still used the frozen sprouts (1 lb.), thawed them slightly in the microwave for 3 minutes, sliced them in half, placed them on a baking sheet with a liberal glug of olive oil, salt and pepper, mixed it well with my hands and then placed them all flat side down. Roasted them for 40 minutes, turning about halfway through. They got deeply caramelized, dark brown with some blackening and a very crispy outside with a tender inside, sweet, yet salty and very moist - almost a creamy texture. . The interest was in the texture ~ both crispy and soft at once. Followed the recipe almost exactly, except for the prep. No need to add anything else but what the recipe calls for. For those who don't like things "well-done", lessen the roasting time or lower the temp. But done as instructed, these were just so delicious! My roommate didn't realize they were Brussels sprouts ~ thought they were potatoes at first. He told me to NEVER make them any other way ever again. Excellent recipe. Thank you!! *Update ~ had them again tonight....just sooooo good!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 2,070) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States