Roasted Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I only used 2 Tablespoons of olive oil and just eyeballed the salt & pepper. I have a small oven- so only cooked 21 minutes, shaking the dickens outta them every 7 minutes. They came out great- amazingly good tasting. My 16 y/o kid loved them too. Can't say enough- try this out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
No oven = bad. Cut the base in a cross pattern half-way through the sprout (be careful not to cut your hands/fingers), clean the sprout, remove bad leafs, steam the sprouts in a steam-boiler for 40 minutes. Do not let the boiler dry out. Season with pepper and salt lightly. Saute for 5 minutes in hot pan with 1/2 Tb butter (not Margarine), serve with rich Hollandaise sauce. You'll love this, trust me (as long as you know how to make hollandaise). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Locutus

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauren0926
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My friends used to swear up and down that they hated brussels sprouts, until they tried this recipe. These are delicious! I learned the trick is to roast them until they are very dark brown--almost burnt--to get a rich, almost sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren0926

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
They came out a little rough around the edges. Maybe cut down on the cooking time and use butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 ft. Cutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I used a flavored olive oil and added thin sliced garlic, as well as cooking a bit shorter like many others have recommended. Turned out great! I have to add that I have I loved Brussels sprouts since I was a child but my Mom let us choose how to eat "strange" vegetables. I would pull off the outer leaves and eat them, then discard the rest (which Mom probably ate)! Let your kids eat new foods how they want and they may try more things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiana Marie
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
After cooking for 40 minutes (plus turning every 7 minutes!) we found that all the outer leaves were burnt and the insides were still quite crunchy. The flavor wasn't good at all, unless we removed those leaves. The next day for lunch I peeled the dark parts off and warmed in the microwave and they were better. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Fantastic! This is our favorite way to make brussel sprouts. We were keen on the roasted balsamic sprouts, but these are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Awesome just plain awesome. The cooking time is spot on. I use sea salt and one of those olive oil bread dips with seasons. On occasion throw in bacon bits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Add chopped fresh garlic for wonderful sweet and smokey flavor. Note:Cut the cooking time in at least half if you halve your brussel sprouts, which I recommend as doing so increases the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,914) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States