Roasted Broccoli & Crispy Polenta with Roasted Pepper & Asiago Chicken Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Yummmm! This is a delicious dish that reminds me of our Southern 'shrimp & grits' (without the sauce) in a unique way. I prepared my own polenta so that made the cooking time much longer, but prepared polenta would be a breeze and help you stay within the 15 minute & dinner's ready timeframe. My husband enjoyed it and so did I. This is the third recipe I've made using al fresco chicken sausage and I have been extremely impressed with their quality and the flavors are out of this world! Please check my photos for the other 2 recipes, they are worth your time. Thanks al fresco, you've added a lifelong customer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I did cook the polenta longer since we like it more on the crispy side. I also added a bit more cheese than called for. The flavors went well together. I was surprised at the sausages being so flavorful but not overpowering. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
My younger 2 kids loved this and I think my youngest son is addicted to Al Fresco now. This was a quick and easy dish. I did make my own polenta instead of storebought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I felt a little gourmet putting this together! I have never made or eaten polenta before either. To cook the broccoli easier I steamed it in a covered bowl for 10 minutes, in 1" or so of water, flipping half way through. I loved the way it tasted once I drained it and added the ingredients. The only change I made was reducing the black pepper to 1/8 tsp and adding 2 small pinches of salt. I didn't see the point in heating up the house to bake the broccoli in the oven 2-3 minutes. I wanted to follow the recipe, so I did that. I wish I wouldn't have. The broccoli softened up too much, lost its brighter color, and the bitterness from the red peppers and lemons dominated. I definitely would not add the oven baking part. I also had to brown the polenta for 8 minutes on each side, to get golden. Overall, a pretty quick dish for how fancy it looked. My only complaint, is it did seem a little dry. Maybe, I could come up with a sauce to pull it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Simple, quick and easy to make.. will definitely make again in the summer time on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I made it with asparagus because I cannot have broccoli; it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by RealCookingDiva
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have any polenta or grits in the cubby, so I sub it with some hashbrown patties. The kids loved it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
My store didn't carry Roasted Pepper & Asiago Chicken Sausage, so I substituted al fresco Sweet Italian Style Chicken Sausage. I made my own polenta using the Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce recipe from this site. The dish was very good and easy to prepare, but it did seem a little dry. I think serving it with a tomato sauce would have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Since I am lazy, I didn't bother with steaming the broccoli first,, just threw it in the oven.. since I had time to roast it. This was delicious and I love roasted broccoli.. the ends get nice and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
A very nice combination (absolutely love grilling polenta) that we all agreed could have used a sauce of some kind and a little more cheese on the broccoli & peppers. The sausage is inherently dry but it's very tasty. We will make again with twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States