Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
350 degrees is too low to cook beets for 45 minutes, especially since your instructions are to place them initially in the roasting foil whole (unsliced). Even though "double roast" them sliced for another 25 minutes, the temperature is still too low and not enough cooking to cure the initial mistake. If you want soft, juicy beets that aren't raw then try slicing first and cooking them at 400-425 for about an hour. After that you can mix in whatever you want and cook them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was a very nice, updated way to prepare beets. The flavor combination works great. I would have given it 5 stars if it had somehow made beet-eaters out of my boys and husband, but alas, this recipe does not work miracles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Excellent -- the man knows his beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Good. Not great. Kind of a hassle to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was sooooo good!! I didn't have walnut oil so I used olive oil, and no champagne vinegar so I subbed balsamic. I can only imagine that those differences would make it better, but this was spectacular anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Delicious! I doubled the beets because my garden is abundant this year with lots of large, sweet beets. I didn't double anything else as my beet greens this time of year (Sept. in Colorado) are getting dry. Actually it took two beets to get enough tender small beet greens to make one cup. I used olive oil, pecans and seasoned rice vinegar; that's what I had on hand. I recommend an 8" X 8" baking dish for this recipe. If you double the beets you'll need a 7" X 11" dish or larger, the beets need to be one layer in dish. Suggestion: toast walnuts and beet the night before so you won't have so many steps and you only have to bake the second day for 15 minutes. Thanks John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Prepared it for lunch earlier today - excellent. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Excellent - need to adjust portions of cheese and walnuts based on size of beet(s). I used three small beets, a little more than 2 oz cheeze and a little more than 1/2 cup of walnuts. My beet greens weren'tin good shape and was using for vegetarian dinner so I served beets and cheese over sauteed baby spinach topped with walnuts and drizzled with vinegar. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States