Roasted Beets with Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
really great and easy. I was short on time so microwaved the beets instead (10 minutes on high). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Very, very good! It was way too hot to turn on the oven, so instead I peeled and cubed the beets, mixed together everything except the parsley and feta and wrapped in a double thickness foil pouch - roasted on the grill for about 15 minutes or so, then sprinkled with the parsley and feta. DELICIOUS! And good cold, too, as I'm still picking on the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Beth Wand Sidell
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
The best beets we've ever eaten. I used green onions instead of shallots and I didn't have wine vinegar so used balsamic instead. These were so good we were craving them the following day and I think they were even better. Until yesterday I thought canned beets grew on trees! They were much easier to cook than I imagined. This will be a regular recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Wand Sidell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Just tried this recipe and loved it! I did make two changes though. I'm not a fan of raw onion flavor, so I carmelized the shallots in some of the olive oil first, and added a little garlic (who doesn't need more garlic?). The carmelization really bought out the sweetness in the shallots and balanced with the saltiness from the cheese and the tang of the vinegars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReelLove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta Junction, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
made as written--used green onions instead of shallots. it was not only tasty, but has a great presentation. thanks! i've also seen versions with pine nuts and/or arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
It is very rare to get a good beet recipe. This is a real good one - made it tonight, will make it again. My two and half year old also gobbled it up. Next time I will try to sprinkle some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This recipe was delicious. It even enticed my feta-loving, beet-skeptical boyfriend. I used minced garlic and onion instead of the shallot, and it turned out great. It's equally good hot and fresh, or as cold leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
awesome! be sure to slice the beets and feta thinly. but these were great and so pretty-- very easy and impressive. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Very good recipe! I bought some fresh beets at the farmer's market this morning and was looking for something different to do with them! For those of you new to working with fresh beets some pointers. After you take the beets out of the oven let them rest for about 30 minutes. Put on a pair off latex gloves (the kind you wash dishes with) and just rub off the skin over a trashcan. Then using a sharp knife slice them as thinly as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Brogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This recipe should be called Steamed Beets with Feta since that's what cooking in a foil packet is. If you peel and slice or dice the beets then pan roast with a little olive oil, S & P the natural sweetness of the beet comes through. It takes the same length of time and flavors are much more intense,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States