Roasted Beets with Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
If you like beets at all, you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used some sweet onion instead of the shallot, and omitted the red wine vinegar as I didn't have any on hand (instead, I increased the balsamic vinegar to 1.5 tbsp). I will be making this often, especially since DH raved over it! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Really wonderful vinaigrette that balances nicely w/ beats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Amazing...loved it...my only change was not to wrap in foil and roast my beets, but to clean and cut into chunks and roast with a lil olive oil, sea salt, pepper and some dried oregano. They were a perfect match for the dressing, I used low fat feta cheese and also added some sliced red onion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This recipe made me like beets. I grew some beets in my garden for my neighbor and decided to try some myself. This recipe is really delicious even for a non-beet lover as I previously was. I found it was not necessary to wrap the beets in foil. I coated the beets in olive oil, then roasted them on a baking sheet. The red wine vinegar and feta is also a great combo in case you're out of balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipe is truely more than the sum of it's parts. I prepared the vinegarette and roasted and peeled the beets and refrigerated them overnight. The next day at lunch I sliced the beets and microwaved them for a minute. I then poured on the vinegrette and feta. Delicious! I used reduced fat feta and next time I will try the recipe with only one TBSP olive oil to cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is amazing! I didn't even think I liked beets but this has me converted. I followed recipe exactly but added half an english cucumber. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I really enjoyed this, but my family did not. I suppose I can make it for one from now on. The beets were not quite tender after the 45 min, so I microwaved them for another 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
pouring 1 tablespoon of water while wrapping the beets into aluminum foil helps to peel easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe is delicious as is, but I've made some modifications that IMO make it even better. I saute the shallot in a little olive oil. Once it's softened, almost carmelized I add rinsed, ripped pieces of the beet greens, then add 2-3 tablespoons of the dressing. Once the greens are wilted I add the feta, give it a swirl, then dish it out, placing the sliced beets on top and drizzle some of the remaining dressing overtop. I could eat this every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States