Roasted Beets with Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Peel before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Best Beets I have ever eaten. (I hate beets) and this is a weekly favorite now. I use lots of the green onions, and changed the red wine vinegar to raspberry wine vinegar. I added about a tablespoon more or less of Ideal 0 cal. brown sugar substitute. I left out the salt because the feta is salty enough. It's sweet and tart, and we can't get enough of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
By far my favorite beet recipe, the only change I made was that I used green onions in place of shallots because that was all I had on hand. They were so good my wife and I ate the entire batch before we even looked at our main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tarrytown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a nice recipe, I like keeping some roasted beets on hand and usually use them (cold) as a salad topping. Also, I like golden beets better. I have a very small enamelled cast-iron pot which I drizzle a bit of olive oil into. Then quarter the beets and toss them into to pot with a fat pinch of rosemary, and another of thyme. I cover the pot with foil and put it into the back of the oven when I am baking other things and just forget about them for 45 or 50 minutes. Once they are cool I put them in the fridge to have on hand for my salads. I also enjoy the beets with goat feta (great pairing), and sometimes use a balsamic/olive oil/black pepper dressing, but generally because of the dense flavours of the feta and beet, I will opt for olive oil with fresh lemon juice dressing. The bright flavour of the lemon is a nice contrast. I also like this with lots of fresh tomato wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Love it, my husbnd hated beets now we love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
my husband and i loathe beets but were shocked at how flavorful these were. i plan on making the "vinnagrette" in the future for salads. my mom said the taste of the beets with feta reminded her of greek salad. so delicious and easy! follow the recipe to a t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caseyboggs7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Really good, love the feta with it, really gives it that added oomph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is THE perfect way to eat beets. Even my beet-hating husband had a small portion (and then I ate the rest!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Roasting fresh beets may convert all those beet haters out there. Once blended, the vinaigrette was a little shallot-heavy, so I added a little more olive oil to even it out. This was enjoyable while the beets were still warm, but it was even better made into a salad along with toasted walnuts. Give beets a chance, they need lovin' too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
YUM! I will never look at beets the same again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States