Roasted Beets with Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Good recipe. I think, in the future, I'd carmelize the shallots like another suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
generally have to be in the mood to eat beets, but these are yummy. The Feta cheese and the balsamic vinegar give it just the right tang!! Made a large batch and very glad I did, as we ate half of them with lunch. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have absolutely HATED beets my whole life. And I'm not a picky eater; I would even eat canned spinnach as a kid sometimes! (ew, I know!) BUT I love this salad. This is a perfect beet recipe. I like to add walnuts as well and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swazulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
we loved these!! i made earlier in the day and was going to add the cheese before serving. well, i forgot, but to tell the truth, it didn't need it. i can't wait to make again. thanks for the post shandeen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
it wasn't bad by any means, but it's just not something my tastebuds cared for! I wish that i had liked it as much as everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Peel before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Best Beets I have ever eaten. (I hate beets) and this is a weekly favorite now. I use lots of the green onions, and changed the red wine vinegar to raspberry wine vinegar. I added about a tablespoon more or less of Ideal 0 cal. brown sugar substitute. I left out the salt because the feta is salty enough. It's sweet and tart, and we can't get enough of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
By far my favorite beet recipe, the only change I made was that I used green onions in place of shallots because that was all I had on hand. They were so good my wife and I ate the entire batch before we even looked at our main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tarrytown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a nice recipe, I like keeping some roasted beets on hand and usually use them (cold) as a salad topping. Also, I like golden beets better. I have a very small enamelled cast-iron pot which I drizzle a bit of olive oil into. Then quarter the beets and toss them into to pot with a fat pinch of rosemary, and another of thyme. I cover the pot with foil and put it into the back of the oven when I am baking other things and just forget about them for 45 or 50 minutes. Once they are cool I put them in the fridge to have on hand for my salads. I also enjoy the beets with goat feta (great pairing), and sometimes use a balsamic/olive oil/black pepper dressing, but generally because of the dense flavours of the feta and beet, I will opt for olive oil with fresh lemon juice dressing. The bright flavour of the lemon is a nice contrast. I also like this with lots of fresh tomato wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Love it, my husbnd hated beets now we love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States