Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This tastes great! I don't think it even needs the sugar. (Or maybe just use half?) I chopped the onion pretty small and some of them blackened in the oven, which turned out to be a nice added crunch to the dish. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have recently began having vegetables delivered from a local farm and chose the famrmer's choice to try new vegetables that I would never buy on my own. Having a batch of beets and not being familiar with them I found this recipe to try and really enjoyed it. I will try adding some goat cheese as others have suggested in the future. The good thing about this recipe is it was enjoyed both hot out of the oven and cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This has been s big hit each time I made it for "crowds" big and small. This is a great recipe for those that don't like sweet potatoes; the beet and onion medley tones down the sweetest of the sweet potatoes and turns it into a sweet and savory dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Not only this delicious warm, it was "out of sight" cold, with avocado, pistachios and goat cheese over a bed of greens. Probably the most delicious and memorable lunch I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Excellent! During the summer we bbq these. Slice they up, butter, green onions, salt & pepper. Wrap up in tin foil. People who didn't particularly like beets LOVE them. I always have to do 2 packages. So sweet and delicious! Thanx for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
LOVE! This quickly became a fall/winter staple as soon as I first made it. I'll sometimes add cubed honey nut or butternut squash if I have any on hand but this recipe, as is, is truly lovely. Thanks a million for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miscibility

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I must admit I did a few variations. It was the first time I tried it and it turned out wonderful. I had beets of various colours but of the same size (smallish). I also had smallish yams. I washed, peeled and sliced beets and yams 1/3 inch. I brushed some extra virgin olive oil on both sides of the vegetables. I didn't add anything to the beets (the golden are already pretty sweet). I brushed the oil on the yams as well and I sprinkled tarragon and black pepper on them. I also cut two pears in 1/2, oiled both sides and sprinkled tarragon on skin side. I put everything in the oven at 375 F until ready (30 - 35 min). I cut the pears and mixed them with the beets and the yams. I sprinkled some white jalapeno and pear balsamic vinegar. It turned out very tasty. The recipe was nice and simple and easy to make changes to. I like that a lot in a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was great! Very colorful for the Thanksgiving table. Tasted good...I added some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I don't have a lot of experience with beets. This will make me eat them far more often. I added carrots and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This dish is amazing! I already love roasted beets and adding sweet potatoes and onions is a GREAT addition! I made it just like the recipe said. One thing I may try next time is drizzling a balsamic vinegar on it when serving. I will certainly be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States