Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was excellent! I had some beets from a farm and had never made them before. I found this recipe and it sounded good. I left out the sugar and used fresh garlic. I added some parsnips to the vegetables. I added the salt and pepper to taste and also added rosemary. Beautiful fall color to the dish as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
So tasty! I baked the beets for 20 minutes instead of 15 at the beginning, and turned the heat down to 350 for the last 20 minutes of bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I hesitated making this dish because I’m not crazy about beets. I’m so glad I tried it because I loved the flavor combination of these vegetables. Not only was it delicious, but it also made a beautiful presentation. This is a perfect fall/winter side dish that I’ll be enjoying many times this season. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Flavor was good. I used the ingredients as listed but, since I was slow roasting ribs, I couldn't bake as instructed. I mixed everything together in a foil pouch and roasted right along with the ribs for 2 1/2 hours. Beets were done perfectly, sweet potatoes a little overdone. (This was my fault, not dropping rating because of it!) Will definitely try again, very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was delicious! I wasn't sure what to serve it with and had some significant and varied dietary needs to consider so we made this into the main dish by tossing with brown rice, lentils, toasted walnuts, and a balsamic reduction- a GREAT combination. I think that next time I would make smaller (bite sized) chunks and roast for a shorter time, especially if I were to serve it the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is a great recipe and turned out really well! It was very easy to make--you don't have to "know how" to cook to get great results! I skipped the added sugar, since all these vegetables are plenty sweet on their own, and didn't use the bag method. I just stirred everything around in a bowl and that worked fine--and saved a bag from ending up in a landfill! I also didn't have garlic powder so I skipped that too, but I'm sure it would have been great with that added kick of garlic. Maybe next time I'll throw in a few minced cloves of garlic in with the onions. The only thing I didn't understand was why the beets never got as soft as the sweet potatoes. Do they just never get that soft, or did I not cook them long enough? I cooked them about 20 minutes before adding the sweet potatoes and onions. Anyway, this was absolutely delicious--we ate it with angel hair pasta and sour cream and it was fantastic. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. We will probably be making this at Thanksgiving too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This dish just SCREAMS "cool weather is finally here!" I cut the amounts down for 2 people (easy division!) and I left out the sugar -- no need for it, really! The beets, potatoes and onions carmelized and sweetened themselves, and the seasoning was the perfect foil. This is part of my permanent reportoire. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
AWESOME! Just a little too much black pepper for my family. Both of my kids struggled through it because of the pepper and even my husband said it was too much. We also would have like more salt but the one substitution that I had to do was table salt since we ran out of kosher. For that reason, I don't take points off for that. Even with the pepper, this was REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Delicious. Made for girl's night. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I think I would like this better if I was a bigger fan of beets. But it did taste pretty good and is pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States