Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Guard this recipe with your life, it's that great. Have made countless times. When serving to one or ??# of people, be prepared to be asked for the recipe. I've already gotten to writing them on recipe cards, for the amount of people who are dining the night I serve this, so as they ask for it, I just hand them this written recipe card. Great with regular potatoes & also adding carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have never liked beets much but roasted like this with the sweet potatoes they're just fine. Everyone in the family ate this. Everyone said they wouldn't mind having it again. I made it as written without changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made these for our 19-month old twins. We've never had beets before, but sweet potatoes have been a favorite since we began solids. The only changes I made was to substitute the sugar for dark honey (honey and real maple syrup both taste great on sweet potatoes). I also crinkle cut the peeled beets and peeled sweet potatoes for presentation. My daughter ate 1/2 a serving, my son picked out only the sweet potatoes. We'll try eating the leftovers tomorrow. Meanwhile, I think they are delicious and will be passing on the recipe. Thank you Drumwrite for introducing beets to my babies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We loved this! We love sweet potatoes, but chose to make it with just beets and sweet onions this time. They were delicious! I will definitely prepare them with sweet potatoes--sometimes with and sometimes without--depends how we feel. Beet lovers will enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
It's ok if you need to eat beets. I had steamed both beets and yamsduring the weeks, so I just baked 40 minutes and then broiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Love this recipe. My beets in the garden are ready now. I don't care that it is summer-you can do these on the grill if you want.. This is a winner and so simple too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This side dish is sooo delish! Used the fresh beets we got from our farm share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Fantastic!! I changed nothing and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
My husband had to listen to me carry on and on about how much i liked this recipe all night! I recommend using several cloves of minced fresh garlic. It's sweet roasted flavor is outstanding with the veggies. Also, I like beets but I feel the sweet potatoes should be more prominent. For two people I did 2 cloves garlic, 1/2 and onion, 3 small sweet potatoes and one tennis ball sized beet. We would have eaten more but we practically licked the pan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe! I love both sweet potatoes and kinda like beets but the onion was really good too. Don't forget the onion if you make this recipe. I omitted the pepper, used brown instead of white sugar, and prepared minced garlic instead of powder. I cooked exactly as directed and the veggies were firm (didn't fall apart or turn to mush) yet perfectly soft cooked. If anything, I'll either cut the beets into smaller pieces or increase the cooking time for just the beets. Delicious and beautiful side dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States