Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Flavor was good. I used the ingredients as listed but, since I was slow roasting ribs, I couldn't bake as instructed. I mixed everything together in a foil pouch and roasted right along with the ribs for 2 1/2 hours. Beets were done perfectly, sweet potatoes a little overdone. (This was my fault, not dropping rating because of it!) Will definitely try again, very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was delicious! I wasn't sure what to serve it with and had some significant and varied dietary needs to consider so we made this into the main dish by tossing with brown rice, lentils, toasted walnuts, and a balsamic reduction- a GREAT combination. I think that next time I would make smaller (bite sized) chunks and roast for a shorter time, especially if I were to serve it the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is a great recipe and turned out really well! It was very easy to make--you don't have to "know how" to cook to get great results! I skipped the added sugar, since all these vegetables are plenty sweet on their own, and didn't use the bag method. I just stirred everything around in a bowl and that worked fine--and saved a bag from ending up in a landfill! I also didn't have garlic powder so I skipped that too, but I'm sure it would have been great with that added kick of garlic. Maybe next time I'll throw in a few minced cloves of garlic in with the onions. The only thing I didn't understand was why the beets never got as soft as the sweet potatoes. Do they just never get that soft, or did I not cook them long enough? I cooked them about 20 minutes before adding the sweet potatoes and onions. Anyway, this was absolutely delicious--we ate it with angel hair pasta and sour cream and it was fantastic. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. We will probably be making this at Thanksgiving too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This dish just SCREAMS "cool weather is finally here!" I cut the amounts down for 2 people (easy division!) and I left out the sugar -- no need for it, really! The beets, potatoes and onions carmelized and sweetened themselves, and the seasoning was the perfect foil. This is part of my permanent reportoire. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
AWESOME! Just a little too much black pepper for my family. Both of my kids struggled through it because of the pepper and even my husband said it was too much. We also would have like more salt but the one substitution that I had to do was table salt since we ran out of kosher. For that reason, I don't take points off for that. Even with the pepper, this was REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Delicious. Made for girl's night. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I think I would like this better if I was a bigger fan of beets. But it did taste pretty good and is pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My mother made this and gave me a dish to take home. It never made it out of the car. My husband and I ate it with our hands. Hubby's not a fan of beets, but they added a great flavor and color to the dish. I absolutely loved it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angesantoro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Absolutely delicious! One of my favorite recipes ever! And very healthy too. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States