Roasted Beets, Apples, and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I do love the beets, apple and fennel combination, however, i left out the extra vinegar and boiled the beets first. To keep the apples from turning into complete mush, I used 3 granny smith and 2 gala (bigger chunks) and the fennel was thinly sliced. You can also substitute balsamic vinegar and add a little dijon mustard to that and skip the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was not spectacular at all. The consistencies and flavors of these ingredients did not meld. I just picked out the beets from the soggy apple mush and left the fennel. Strange recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is delicious! Make sure to cut the beets and fennel into smaller chunks than the apples. I added crumbled feta cheese to mine after serving...a great layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
although the flavors marry beautifully, the texture wasn't pleasing to me. the beets were deliciously tender, but the apples turned to mush, and were contrasted by the slightly crunchy fennel. I made this for a family get-together, and no one liked it. i gave it a two, because i think i can work on this to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Yery tasty and colourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I wasn't crazy about this. Used the tips from previous reviewers about cutting into smaller pieces and adding the dijon mustard dressing at the end. Found the taste to be a little strange and the beet juice colored everything else so it didn't look as nice as I'd expected. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
"A winner!" was what my boyfriend said. I made the Honey Mustard Dressing I from this site minus the mayonnaise and used that in this recipe. I still have to get the roasting technique down, I tried cutting the beets and fennel very small but still ended up with slightly underdone beets and applesauce. I might try adding the beets first next time, then the fennel, and finally the apples to get them all done at the same time. Would have been a good idea to save some of the dressing for the end, will do it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Gave it four stars because of the ingredients... after reading the other reviews, modified and it came out superb! Sliced the beets and the fennels, cut the apples in small wedges, salt, peppered, used olive oil then I covered and baked for 45 minutes. Uncovered and browned for 15 and tossed it with the dijon mustard dressing last. Will add this to my company repertoire! A beautiful looking dish, sorry I didn't take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi Sardini

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I wish I had taken a photo. This dish is delicious and beautiful. This is a great addition to any summer or fall party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
it was okay...not all that great. my oven kinda killed it i think, the apples and the fennal dried. the ingredents seemed good but perhaps a difrent cooking methood would do well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States