Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Absolutely Fantastic! My wife and I just switched to a plant based diet and wanted to try out beets! Just a few variances of my own: I added fresh ginger, about a tablespoon chunk minced, to the saute. I also used white wine instead of red wine vinegar for a more robust sweetness. I sauteed the garlic, ginger, onions in Coconut oil on LOW (the lowest the flame goes) for about 15 minutes uncovered before adding in the beet tops and then an additional 10 minutes covered and 5 minutes on medium-low heat uncovered for 5 minutes or until slightly golden and most excess water has steamed off. My wife added some wild rice into the mix so in the end we had a big bowl of diced beets with rice and the saute. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I took this recipe and added both parts to brown rice and chopped almonds with a little extra olive oil and some lemon juice - makes a terrific meal! I also saved the raw stems, rather than discarding them, because they make a good snack with veggie dip or peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Absolutely yummy.... I roasted organic carrots with the beets and after sauteeing the greens in garlic & onions I added the beets & the carrots. It was simple, colorful and delightfully delicious. I served it with tri-color corn on the cob....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Superb! My new favorite recipe for beets and I never knew beet greens were so wonderful. I'm a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Never knew that I would enjoy beet greens as much as I do! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcontro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My son and I love these! They have great flavor and it's a great way to eat your beet greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Yum! I'd never eaten or cooked beet greens before so I followed the recipe exactly and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I love Beets!! And this was an awesome way to get beet greens in my diet. They are high in potassium and very good for you and if you follow this recipe they are sweet and a little acidic which made them awesome, My fiance does not like beets and he even said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GremlinQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was fantastic! I did have issues trying to remove the peel after they were cooked. Next time I won't bother - I don't with potatoes. The picky 12 year old liked them as well - that's huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States