Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Kate
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Wow, what a great side dish! I enjoy beets but have only had them cold on top of my salad. Per other's suggestions, I sauteed some shitake mushrooms along with the greens. Mixed both the beets and greens together then added a generous sprinkle of feta. I didn't add any additional butter or vinegar. It came out great. At first glance my boyfriend was going to pass this up but then he went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a regular menu item in our house, we LOVE it. However, there is one small addition we make that we believe is KEY: toasted, chopped pecans. Sprinkled on top at the end. It rounds out the flavors and texture perfectly. Seriously folks, add the pecans. We serve it on olive oil and garlic couscous (NearEast brand). SOOO YUMMY. Quinoa works too, but isn't as flavorful and takes longer. Tips: Make sure to cover the beets or they take twice as long to cook; we use foil over our pyrex dish. Double this recipe for 2 adults and a bit of leftovers. Add more garlic/onions depending on your tastes. HIGHLY recommended even for the beet-resistant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I've never made (or eaten) fresh beets before. I thought they were great! I'd make this a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayzima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I was wary of beet greens but this recipe was delicious. As some have mentioned, it was heavy on the oil. I will definitely cut back on both the oil for roasting and the oil for the greens. We omitted the onion and felt it was fine without. I don't know what is standard size for a bunch of beets but the bunches at the store were sold with 4 baby beets - this would not have made 4 servings. 2 at best. Just something to keep in mind if you're looking to feed a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Thank you for a successful first try at cooking beets! The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because it was a bit heavy on the oil. I used cooking spray on the roasting dish and a little directly on the beets (no additional oil required). For the beet greens, less than 1 T of oil and the addition of a tip of water when needed made the greens delicious. I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These are wonderful! The first time I did just as the recipe says. The second time I cut the beets into small chunks, and sauted them with the greens and such. They were on the crunchy side, which was a nice texture change. We'll be doing these often, as we grow beets and love using all of the plant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Best beet recipe I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Delicious greens so simply prepared; omitted the vinegar--unnecessary. My sisters and I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I love this recipe with feta and some toasted walnuts! I use balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was a great way to cook our beets! Hubby is allergic to garlic, so I had to improvise. I used fresh-ground pepper and porcini sea salt to season both parts while cooking. When they were done with their respective cooking methods, I combined them in one bowl and drizzled them with reduced balsamic vinegar, and tossed to coat. We couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States