Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This was an excellent way to prepare beets. I roasted the beets in the oven as instructed but with potatos and carrots as well, then tossed them with a tiny bit of olvie oil and feta. I also added mushrooms and green onions to the beet greens when I sauteed them. My children loved it. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
828 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I am AMAZED. I tried this recipe because I felt stuck in a vegetable rut. I wanted a veggie we don't eat often. I was wary because hubby doesn't like beets and I don't care for greens. But I tried it and it is SENSATIONAL. Hubby loved it, I loved it. The greens were the surprise hit. And felt great getting two veggies out of one. I added butter and a bit more oil because it didn't seem like enough. This was a mistake as my greens turned out a bit too oily/buttery. Perfect as is. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
581 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I saw beets at the Farmers Market and bought them. I found this recipe and tried it due to the positive reviews! I can only say that the roasted beets are absolutely delicious. I have made this recipe twice now. Roasting time for beets definitely depends on the size. For those who have never tried fresh beets...give them a try! Well worth the roasting time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Excellent recipe(s). I've made them several times, and we enjoy them immensely. Note that the time given to bake or roast the beets is an approximation--how long you cook them in actuality depends upon the size and age of the beets, as well as the vagaries of each particular oven. When I'm using baby beets, the time is slightly less than one hour; at this time of year (fall), I'm using older. larger beets, so I'll figure this in, and cook them for up to an hour and a half. Oh, yeah--tobasco is tasty on the cooked greens, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
simple and delicious. I was generous with the garlic and onion and went light on the oil--got a great flavor. also, used 1 bunch yellow beets and 1 bunch red for a variety. like other people have said, the beets will take an hour to cook, maybe longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Saw recipe went out and got beets. I have been doing both steamed for years. This was great. I don't know why they don't sell beet greens like, chard,spinach or other greens. they are best, better than spinach..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This recipe gets an excellent review from me for several reasons. It has relitively few ingredients, which I love. It is simple, which I love. And, I got to eat beets, which I have never had fresh. I have only had pickled before and hated them. I topped my beets with butter salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I had never been a huge fan of beets, but we grew some this year and I used this recipe- WOW they were awesome!! Have made many times already. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Delicious idea using the whole beet. Beets are moist and tasty, the greens are flavorful (similar to swiss chard) and add color. This is a great basic recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Really delicious. I was afraid of the greens because greens often taste bitter to me, but I couldn't get enough of them once they were on my plate. My beets took longer than an hour to cook (I wanted them very well done). The beets didn't taste as delicious as I've had in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States