Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Time to post a review after making this at least 5 times now. I love beets, and roasting them with skins on is the best and easiest way I've found to cook them. The pleasant surprise was the greens! I had always just cut them off and tossed them before finding this recipe - tragic mistake. I had no idea how delicious beet greens were. I've been raving to friends and family since making this recipe the first time. Lately I've been spreading the greens over the cut-up beets after adding the red wine vinegar. I sometimes use balsamic, which is also great. Thanks for the discovery! Note -- I agree with the other reviewers that wish that beet greens alone were widely available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was good. I made as directed the first time. The beets took longer to cook than I thought. The second time I wrapped each beet individually in foil after rubbing olive oil and salt and pepper on them. That seems to work a bit better. The big standout though were the beet greens. Who knew they were so good? I asked my mom and friends if they had ever eaten beet greens. Nobody had! I added shallots to the onion and garlic sautee. Very very tasty. I wish I could buy the greens by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berry Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Really liked this recipe! Didn't add onion because I didn't have any, but I definitely will next time. The red wine vinegar really makes this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSharpe701

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timberville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dayton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I was bbq'ing already so I peeled and diced the beets then made a foil pouch to cook them on the grill then sautéed the greens with shallots and tossed both in balsamic vinegar. Yumm!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I was looking for a recipe for the beet leaves and this one was delicious. I used red onion to add some more flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Very good and very simple. My husband loved the unique flavor the greens provided. I will definitely make these again probably playing with the recipe a bit. I like to try variations of everything. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henning, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Safford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Delicious! This was my first time preparing and eating beets that weren't from a can. I was a little nervous to try it, but it was very easy and yummy. Next time I will try peeling them before roasting them because they were a bit hot to handle (and messy) when I peeled them after. Buttering them (instead of the vinegar) was a great idea. My husband loved them too, and said they were "rustic". I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is one of the best recipes I have ever had. I love beets and preparing the greens was a surprise at how delicious they are. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! Of course, like any good cook, I added my own touch and used smoked paprika along with the garlic and onion in the greens AS WELL AS the roasted beets! I also used Balsamic Vinegar over the greens when serving the dish...SO INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS!!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!! Going to include it on my Thanksgiving table this year! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My BFF's sister-in-law made these when we went to see them @ the lake...they were the perfect mid-summer outdoor dish. She didn't have red wine vinegar, so she used balsemic and lemon juice, and she sprinkled feta over all. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States