Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is really good. I thought the only way beets were good was if they were pickled. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Fabulous! I had some Golden Beets from the Farmers market and wanted a recipe that wouldn't cover up the fresh flavor of the beets. This was it! I cooked them in a Dutch oven with the olive oil. They came out tender, slightly browned, and very flavorful. I served them on top of the sauteed greens. For the greens, my changes were that I used 1/2 c of onion, and Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine for more flavor, then cooked them a little long than stated. I served with baked chicken. It was just delicious and will be made again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was a wonderful combination, particularly for when you have fresh beets that come with tops. Easy to prepare and healthy ingredients to boot. The only thing I changed is that I added a drizzle of balsamic vinegar to the beet greens as well as the beets themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was my first time cooking beets, and I was pleasantly surprised! I peeled my beets before cooking them and I added carrots; the beets were small so the cooking time was reduced. The greens were amazing! This will be a regular side dish on my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I followed this recipe using golden beets and it was delicious! I served the roasted beets chopped and added to brown rice (along with cumin) with the beet greens on the side. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Really liked the added touch of greens. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I love this recipe for the beets (did not cook the greens, so can't comment on that). I added the red wine vinegar and the olive oil together and drizzled over the sliced beets along with a little sea salt before baking covered in the oven. I did extend the cook time by an extra 10 minutes. These are so delicious, and I just love the colour, flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe that I have made several times. If you can get yellow golden beets, from your farmer's market, definitely try them. They have a fantastic flavor and do not bleed like red beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I use this recipe at least twice a month. My family loves it. I do not use vinagar. I keep the stems and saute them too. I added spinach leaves last time and it seemed to go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
These beets are awsome, great flavor. I couldn't get enought of these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States