Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Thank you for sharing this simple use of the whole plant. Always on the lookout for penny savers. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was a great way to use the whole beet! And it tastes delicious. All members of the family (even those not huge beet fans) love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe as is. I do like to change it up a little by using 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar and toss with either gorgonzola or goat cheese crumbles once everything is assembled. A wonderful autumn dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Perfect as is. I converted at least 2 non-beet eaters with this recipe. Raves from my kids too. Full of flavor. I did not include the red wine vinegar and instead kept to salt and pepper option. We had with grilled steak. Light enough for a summer side dish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
At this time of year when you are trying to keep the kitchen cool, first boil the beets until tender or until a knife inserted into the largest beat slips in easily. When done run under cool water and you can peel skin off easily. Refill the pot you used and steam the greens just till tender (5 to 8 minutes). Mix all and then dress with remaining ingredients. Easy, healthy and very good. I've been doing beets this way for years. You can also skip the ingredients shown, except for sliced onions and top with greek garlic and yogurt sauce. (strain yogurt for 30 minutes with 2 tablespoons of grated cucumber, skin on,and 1 or 2 large garlic cloves, mix all and use on steamed beats.) If you make extra sauce you can use it on other veggies, grilled eggplant, grilled zucchini, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Beets are one of my favorites and I like this simple method of preparation. Most of all, I like beet greens as a stand alone side dish. They are good raw in salads and I will also make them with (the usual) Eastern Indian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used beets out of my own garden, and I also added Yukon Gold potatoes I grew. To the saute I added mushrooms and it turned out super yummy. Thank you for the recipe. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J'nel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BK
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
this was good - liked the beets a lot, not a huge fan of the greens, but a good way to use them and get the nutrients from them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Delicious. I took the advice of another reviewer and combined the greens to the cooked beets then added feta cheese. The cheese looks beautiful against the bright red. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Loved it! Greens were yummy, beets were yummy, followed recipe exactly and used the red wine vinegar for the beets :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States