Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Tried this last night on my first-ever homegrown beets and my first time ever cooking beets. This was simple and perfect. I ended up sprinkling the beets with a little salt, fresh parsley & lemon and also added fresh ginger to the saute. Nice, fresh and easy! My husband loved both dishes, so thanks for helping me make him eat his vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafofo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
awesome!! i actually already had the beets boiling and wanted to try to use the greens as i've never cooked them before. can't believe i've been throwing them out all these years!! i thought the red wine vinegar was weird but now i think that was the best part!!! ate the greens alone and they were phenomenal!!! reminded me of something between swiss chard and polish cooked cabbage (because of the onions and vinegar). rock solid!!! wish i could just buy the beet greens by themselves now!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I roasted it 1.25 hours but it was still a little too crunchy. Peeling it after roasting in oil wasn't such a good idea considering how slippery it was :/ The flavors were pretty good. I didn't have red wine vinegar, so I just used red wine vinaigrette right across the board. I think in the future I'll steam it long enough to be able to peel it, then cover and roast it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Wow, what a great side dish! I enjoy beets but have only had them cold on top of my salad. Per other's suggestions, I sauteed some shitake mushrooms along with the greens. Mixed both the beets and greens together then added a generous sprinkle of feta. I didn't add any additional butter or vinegar. It came out great. At first glance my boyfriend was going to pass this up but then he went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a regular menu item in our house, we LOVE it. However, there is one small addition we make that we believe is KEY: toasted, chopped pecans. Sprinkled on top at the end. It rounds out the flavors and texture perfectly. Seriously folks, add the pecans. We serve it on olive oil and garlic couscous (NearEast brand). SOOO YUMMY. Quinoa works too, but isn't as flavorful and takes longer. Tips: Make sure to cover the beets or they take twice as long to cook; we use foil over our pyrex dish. Double this recipe for 2 adults and a bit of leftovers. Add more garlic/onions depending on your tastes. HIGHLY recommended even for the beet-resistant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I've never made (or eaten) fresh beets before. I thought they were great! I'd make this a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayzima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I was wary of beet greens but this recipe was delicious. As some have mentioned, it was heavy on the oil. I will definitely cut back on both the oil for roasting and the oil for the greens. We omitted the onion and felt it was fine without. I don't know what is standard size for a bunch of beets but the bunches at the store were sold with 4 baby beets - this would not have made 4 servings. 2 at best. Just something to keep in mind if you're looking to feed a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Thank you for a successful first try at cooking beets! The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because it was a bit heavy on the oil. I used cooking spray on the roasting dish and a little directly on the beets (no additional oil required). For the beet greens, less than 1 T of oil and the addition of a tip of water when needed made the greens delicious. I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These are wonderful! The first time I did just as the recipe says. The second time I cut the beets into small chunks, and sauted them with the greens and such. They were on the crunchy side, which was a nice texture change. We'll be doing these often, as we grow beets and love using all of the plant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Best beet recipe I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States