Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Love that this is one of the few beets recipes I've seen which uses the tops too! Roasted beets per the recipe - they came out perfectly. Diced while warm and tossed with toasted almonds and marinated mozzarella cheese. Delicious! For the greens, to make it a heartier side dish, sauteed mushrooms and sliced chicken sausage separately and set aside. Then cooked garlic with diced bell peppers (no onion on hand). Added beet greens and cooked until wilted. Mixed mushrooms/sausage back in until heated through, seasoned with salt/pepper and drizzled red wine vinegar to finish. Lots of room for creativity with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Followed directions to a T. Did not like. Maybe I just don't like beets? Either way a no go in my house. Sauteed greens were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Amazing, everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was the first time I've ever cooked a green other than spinach. Wow! Really really liked it. The garlic bits ended up being extremely pretty pink accents in the midst of the dark green leaves which was also an unexpected visual treat. I also cut up the beets and tossed them with a bit of feta cheese, white balsamic vinegar and the oil they were baked in (as the recipe suggests). WOW. That was amazing. Will definitely be doing this again. BTW, roasting with the skins on - thank god for that tip. A few months ago I tried to peel them first. Totally bad idea. This method is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The flavors of the earth come together in this dish. I roasted my beets with a little balsamic vinegar and rosemary and served with a dijon-yogurt sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Turned out great. Only difference instead of olive oil and used Italian dressing on the roasted beets. Also added a few crush pepper flakes to the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Strasser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Husband even liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Tried this last night on my first-ever homegrown beets and my first time ever cooking beets. This was simple and perfect. I ended up sprinkling the beets with a little salt, fresh parsley & lemon and also added fresh ginger to the saute. Nice, fresh and easy! My husband loved both dishes, so thanks for helping me make him eat his vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafofo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
awesome!! i actually already had the beets boiling and wanted to try to use the greens as i've never cooked them before. can't believe i've been throwing them out all these years!! i thought the red wine vinegar was weird but now i think that was the best part!!! ate the greens alone and they were phenomenal!!! reminded me of something between swiss chard and polish cooked cabbage (because of the onions and vinegar). rock solid!!! wish i could just buy the beet greens by themselves now!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I roasted it 1.25 hours but it was still a little too crunchy. Peeling it after roasting in oil wasn't such a good idea considering how slippery it was :/ The flavors were pretty good. I didn't have red wine vinegar, so I just used red wine vinaigrette right across the board. I think in the future I'll steam it long enough to be able to peel it, then cover and roast it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States