Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I'm really only reviewing the sauteed beet greens because I did not roast the beets. I added a handful of almond slivers and a little sugar to this recipe and I have to report that my 6-year old LOVED it. I used lemon juice instead of vinegar and left out the pepper. I was also generous with the onions and only used one garlic clove. We love beets and this was my first time ever making beet greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Really good recipe. I made it exactly as depicted and it was a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Made it as is and was very good! Served with a little balsamic drizzled on the side too. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinhart80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I love this recipe for my fresh beets for the garden. So very simple with loads of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Excellent! Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
this is fabulous. i use the roasted beets in a salad with goat cheese and a sweet thyme-honey vinagrette...with the greens as a side...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Love that this is one of the few beets recipes I've seen which uses the tops too! Roasted beets per the recipe - they came out perfectly. Diced while warm and tossed with toasted almonds and marinated mozzarella cheese. Delicious! For the greens, to make it a heartier side dish, sauteed mushrooms and sliced chicken sausage separately and set aside. Then cooked garlic with diced bell peppers (no onion on hand). Added beet greens and cooked until wilted. Mixed mushrooms/sausage back in until heated through, seasoned with salt/pepper and drizzled red wine vinegar to finish. Lots of room for creativity with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Followed directions to a T. Did not like. Maybe I just don't like beets? Either way a no go in my house. Sauteed greens were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Amazing, everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was the first time I've ever cooked a green other than spinach. Wow! Really really liked it. The garlic bits ended up being extremely pretty pink accents in the midst of the dark green leaves which was also an unexpected visual treat. I also cut up the beets and tossed them with a bit of feta cheese, white balsamic vinegar and the oil they were baked in (as the recipe suggests). WOW. That was amazing. Will definitely be doing this again. BTW, roasting with the skins on - thank god for that tip. A few months ago I tried to peel them first. Totally bad idea. This method is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States