Roasted Beet and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
really really good, I used carrots instead of potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Doubled the veggies, and added garlic and carrots to the roasting pan. Put a pint of heavy cream in the end to finish too. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My mother grew beets in her garden, so I grew up eating a lot of beets: beets for supper all summer long; pickled beets (sour); and borscht (sweet and sour beet soup). I found that this soup recipe did in fact taste good: it reminded me of the type of soups sometimes served in high-end gourmet restaurants. I made mine without milk, and it still tasted good. I will not make this recipe again though because I associate beets with a sour taste rather than a "chicken broth" taste. I really much prefer the sour taste. I can easily imagine that children would like this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I thought it was really good. I loved the smoky taste and the smell, and the lemon juice balances nicely the sweetness, I added more of it, though. Unfortunately, my 3 year old and 11 month old were not thrilled about this soup, but I wasn't going to base my rating on their pickiness. I enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Shirley, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My husband is not normally a fan of beets and we definitely enjoyed this. I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used 3 large beets and one medium sized potato. Substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth since that is what I had available. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Out of this world. I made it as called for but used one minor substitution - a shallot instead of onion because it's what I had on hand. Forget any idea of altering or adjusting or adding weird things like hot sauce. Hot sauce? The recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Tastier than anticipated, that's for sure! Will definately put on my "regulars" list of meals. The only altering done was that I had very small potatoes and only small four beets which made my recipe small so I eye-balled the broth and (1%) milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Super yummy. I veganized it really simply by switching the chicken stock to veggie, and the milk to cashew cream. I mashed it with a potato masher bc cleaning my immersion blender is a pain. Love it! My husband asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Good soup. We needed to add a little something to tweak it. I added cayenne pepper. Garlic croutons worked, too. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Amazingly simple and delicious! I made a double batch then added an extra cup each of beets and potatoes as I wanted to use up what I had. Served eight happy campers for dinner. What a great way to incorporate beets into a meal! This is a fabulous starter soup that can be tweaked in so many ways. Glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States