Roasted Beet and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Mmmmm!!!! This beautiful megenta color soup is so tasty and delicious!!!! I modified it a bit - I skipped the roasting part (and skipped peeling the red skinned potatoes) and just sauted all the chopped vegetables in a large soup pot. I omitted the thyme - (i dont like it) and instead, after i pureed the soup i added freshly chopped dill. I used soy milk instead of milk. i was a but skeptical about the milk and lemon juice, so i tried the soup before i added those ingredients, then added them and it really balanced the sweetness of the beets. I am glad i added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
The soup was really tasty and beautiful color, but I think I would add more beets and potatoes to that amount of stock just to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
A bit bland flavor-wise, so I had to add more pepper, salt, and also about a teaspoon of Tabasco smoked chipotle pepper sauce. To be honest, I am not a big fan of beets in general, but after adding to this recipe as noted, the soup made it possible for me to eat beets. In the future, I might also add some ham or Italian sausage to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Really delicious! This didn't taste heavily of beets to me, but nice, balanced, creamy and lightly sweet. I added 4 cloves of garlic instead of one, and used 1/2 cup of half-and-half instead of 1 1/2 of whole milk to keep the soup thicker but still creamy. Delicious and cheap. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
this recipe is fantastic and beautiful to boot. the vegetable mixture actually ended up cooking down quite a bit for me, so the texture and thickness ended up perfect; no modifications necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I altered the recipe slightly- no thyme and instead used chives and parmesan cheese as garnish- and didn't really follow the quantities so it was thicker than expected but still so delicious! The addition of milk and lemon juice definitely made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Have to say, I hate it when someone rates the recipe after altering it but here I go (was trying to use up leftover misc things in my fridge from Christmas). First off, I used an acorn squash in add'n to the potato and beets (roasted as directed). I used leeks instead of the onion. For the chick broth, I used 1 cup chick broth (all that I had left), 2 cups vegetable broth and 1 cup white wine (btw-"Better than Bouillon" is awesome). For the milk, I used 1 cup hvy cream and 1/2 cup 1% milk (what I had on hand). This was EXCELLENT but rich. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Excellent and hearty soup. It is a great starting point for all sorts of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Amazingly simple and delicious! I made a double batch then added an extra cup each of beets and potatoes as I wanted to use up what I had. Served eight happy campers for dinner. What a great way to incorporate beets into a meal! This is a fabulous starter soup that can be tweaked in so many ways. Glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This soup was excellent! Once pureed, it was very creamy and flavorful. I love that it did not require many ingredients and was very easy to make. The only changes I made were that I forgot to add the lemon juice and I didn't have any celery, but I was equally happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States